A video of my African grey parrot, Rufus, dancing to rock and roll (until he sees the camera)

I do not know how Rufus knows I am trying to record him. He talks a lot, and responds to things I say. We play “Marco Polo”, he says his name when I ask him, he whines like a puppy when I ask him, etc, etc, etc. But,  I can never get a video of him talking. The second I hold up the camera, he stops talking.

Also, he will dance up a storm, also until he sees the camera. Who ever heard of a bird who is camera shy? Well, Rufus is camera shy.

My African grey parrot, Rufus, dancing to rock and roll – until he sees the camera:

Rufus loves hanging out on his “Boing Boing”. When he dances, he really boings up and down, and makes his bell ding a lot. Rufus loves doing it, right up until we point the camera at him…. How does he know?

That is my hubby encouraging Rufus to keep dancing. Rufus is usually a ham and loves to entertain us and make us laugh — unless we are trying to record him. Then he gives us the Evil Eye, as shown in the video.

Silly bird.

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

My new blog: Life in Our Backyard

12 Comments

Filed under African Grey Parrots, Parrots, Pets

12 responses to “A video of my African grey parrot, Rufus, dancing to rock and roll (until he sees the camera)

  1. Michelle

    Too cute…maybe you should get one of those hidden cameras and put it in a hat or something. Like the Nanny Cams. Or disguise the one you have. It is just to precious not get video of him. Thanks for sharing this with us…put a smile on my face!!grace to youshell

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Shell: I really would like to get a video camera that I could remotely record his antics. It is going to be a while before it makes it to the top of our priority list. The camera I have is mostly a still camera, but it can take short videos. You have to be there to hit the record button. X

  3. Joan

    I want to secretly film my cockatiel to see what she does when I\’m out…

Leave a Reply

