Interesting juxtaposition of events: Spending an hour deleting battery comment spam and then spending an hour shopping for a replacement camera battery changer

<rant>

Every morning, I check my space for comment spam. Two or three mornings out of each seven I spend an hour deleting spam out of my Windows Live Space blog comments. I just listen to some nice music and get into the robotic zone of deleting spam.

Most of the spam we all get is for batteries. I never understood why batteries would be the most spammed product here in Windows Live Spaces….until today…

My hubby and I can’t find the battery charger for our digital camera. So, I’ve been shopping online for a replacement.

What a racket! The part to charge the battery is so dang expensive! The battery is equally expensive. Selling batteries and battery accessories is certainly a money maker…

So, I finally understand the spammers..

</rant>

X

Edited to add:

This is the next morning. (after deleting another batch of spam) My hubby found the charger. Whew! Good thing. That doohickey is expensive!

—-

Please give your thoughts on comment spam in my thread in the Windows Live Solution Center:

Windows Live Spaces comment spam is out of control

An admin suggested that I report spammers. Funny. Our Abuse Reports are never seen by human eyes. Talk about an exercise in futility. Reporting them is not the problem.

We still need to report them, though. But, it would be nice if somebody read the reports and closed the accounts. I’ve been spammed by the same battery spammer two days in a row.

Please add your spam rants to the thread linked above so Windows Live Administrators will see how big the problem is.

Thank you,

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

My new blog: Life in Our Backyard

33 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

33 responses to “Interesting juxtaposition of events: Spending an hour deleting battery comment spam and then spending an hour shopping for a replacement camera battery changer

  1. Tracey

    Yep, me too. One report filed against same F**king idiot today. Huh! l knew the batteries were expensive. (Found out when l attempted to buy a \’spare\’ last summer.) ln some cases, you might as well get a new camera lol.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Tracey: You want to hear something funny? I have a current thread about spam on the Windows Live Solution Center: "Windows Live Spaces comment spam is out of control": http://windowslivehelp.com/thread.aspx?threadid=e87740ad-8c30-4ce4-9e2c-6f5dc02653cd An admin suggested that I report the spammer. Funny. Our Abuse Reports are never seen by human eyes. Talk about an exercize in futility. Reporting them is not the problem. We still need to report them, though. But, it would be nice if somebody read the reports and closed the accounts. I\’ve been spammed by the same battery spammer two days in a row. I got so enthusiastic that I accidentally deleted a post from Rocket Man in this post…. OOPS. X

  3. Greg

    If the camera connects to your PC with a USB cable, then you may be able to charge the battery just by plugging it into your computer. It varies by camera model, but it works with mine. I also do it with my mobile phone when I\’ve forgotten my charger at home. Saw MacGuyver do it once. 😉

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: Thank you for the suggestion. MacGuyver? Ooh! I got so into my morning rant about spam that I forgot to mention that my hubby found the charger… X

  5. Michelle

    I had the same problem for a while and I reported it everytime…I would copy and paste what was being posted….I was kind of hoping they would be as annoyed but now my bubble has been popped…I thought someone actually read those complaints…lol Traffic through my space is minimal now…so maybe, hopefully…well I won\’t say it and jinx it…lol I hope they clear up the problem none the less.grace to youshell

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Michelle: It\’s a long story that I have been following for about two years. We have a zillion repeat spammers that have been reported but are still active. It\’s a big annoyance that admin has allowed garbage to take over my favorite place on the internet. X

  7. Greg

    Please tell me you know who MacGuyver is…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacGyver

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Greg: You misunderstood my comment: "MacGuyver? Ooh!" That was intended to convey the following thought: "Even MacGuyver has done that? What a great recommendation. I am impressed." On a side note, Saturday Night Live has a running skit called "MacGruber". Since you like Wikipedia as a source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacGruber X

  9. ROCKET

    No worries, X. I couldn\’t figure out how to add a comment on the thread.So long s WLS views us as nothing but numbers on a hit counter so they can tell advertisers "You should buy space from us because we have so many million users per day!" the problem will never be addressed. I usually get one response frrom "The Team" for every 10 or 15 abuse reports I file. The responses are always the same; please give us detailed information on the abuse including abuser\’s profile url, copies of the comment, date, etc. When I reply that I included all of that in te original report that is the last I ever hear from support and the spam just keeps on coming.

  10. X-Evolutionist

    @Rocket: Ditto to everything you said. If they ever looked at one of the profiles we report maybe they would not have to ask what we are reporting them for. Sheesh. One admin has responded to my spam thread in the forum. I would like more people to post or else I look like a crazy lady. Look for the microscopic "Reply" link below the posts: http://windowslivehelp.com/thread.aspx?threadid=e87740ad-8c30-4ce4-9e2c-6f5dc02653cd

  11. X-Evolutionist

    @Spam Haters: You have to sign in to post to this spam report thread: http://windowslivehelp.com/thread.aspx?threadid=e87740ad-8c30-4ce4-9e2c-6f5dc02653cd

  12. Tracey

    ls just replying to your posts good enough – will someone see that X? Or do we need to do a new post?

  13. X-Evolutionist

    @Tracey: I think one thread with many posts on one topic might get their attention more than lots of separate ones. Besides, threads that don\’t get posted to get moved down as more posts are made. But, posts to an existing thread bumps it up where it can be seen. X

  14. crestind

    Consider trying iMacros for Firefox. You could probably find a way to automate the process.

  15. X-Evolutionist

    @crestind: You know what? I have never used a macro in my life. I would not know where to start. I appreciate the idea, but I\’ll have to google it and find out what iMacros is. Thanks, X

Leave a Reply

