That great blue heron is never going to eat my fish again!

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron who ate a third of my fish before I caught him in the act

First nice day of the year, so….Time to clean the goldfish pond!

My hubby just finished cleaning the fishpond for the beginning of the new season. Each winter it gets all yucky. Then the first nice day of spring my hubby takes the filter apart and cleans everything.

All winter, we have had the pond covered with a floating net made for that purpose. It was to keep the heron from eating any more of my fish… ( I am having mixed feelings about the magnificent Great Blue Heron that’s been visiting our goldfish pond… )

Rick the Grandpa Goldfish

This is a Picture of Rick. He is one of the casualties…

The fish who are left are waking up, too. All winter they kind of float on the bottom of the pond in a state of suspended animation. They don’t eat all winter long, either.

Now, though, they are swimming around near the surface. I even say one boy fish chasing after a girl fish….. and that means more babies!

We have lots of room for babies since the Great Blue Heron ate a third of my fish. But, it will be the last time!

 This is our new fish hiding place. I found it in a heating and cooling supply house. It is called a Multifit Wye. It is a fitting for heating and cooling ducts. It is now laying at the bottom of the pond.

I had originally bought a thingy called a Koi Kastle, but it was flimsy plastic, and way too expensive. I returned it. Read about it here: The squeaky wheel pays no return shipping charges

Here is a picture of my new goldfish hiding place from Great Blue Herons. When it warms up, my hubby is going to cover the wye with rocks so it will blend in with the bottom of the pond:

Multifit Wye - The place for my goldfish to hide from the Great Blue Heron

Multifit Wye from General Plastics - The new place for my goldfish to hide from the Great Blue Heron

It is about two and a half feet long with an eight inch opening and two six inch openings. I have been trying to brainstorm up a place where my goldfish can hide so that big bird can’t get to them. Otherwise, they are sitting ducks.

Woohoo. My babies are safe now! I’m happy!

X

30 Comments

Filed under Goldfish, Life in the backyard

30 responses to “That great blue heron is never going to eat my fish again!

  1. Horst

    Lets hope the fish don\’t forget about that device, when the Heron comes around.

  2. Horst

    Your fish are beautifull healthy looking. Now wonder the Heron comes around.

  3. X-Evolutionist

    @Horst: Thank you! I think they are pretty, too! The fish will know exactly what to do if/when the heron comes back. After we first caught the heron, I put in a five gallon bucket tipped sideways. The fish spent most of the winter in the bucket. This morning, my hubby took out the bucket, and put the wye in right away. They fish will figure it out, I\’m sure. X

  4. Malcolm

    we\’ve always kept one or two bits of old drainage pipes in our pond for the same purpose but, the best deterrent to the heron seems to be the prolific reed and plant growth at the pond\’s edge. Our fish are still in a resting state at present but, it won\’t be too long before I re-instate the pump ready for the warmer (hopefully) weather. They sure do look healthy fish!

  5. X-Evolutionist

    @Malcolm: This is the first day we\’ve seen the fish active at all this year. But, things are coming back alive quickly now that it is (finally) getting warmer. Good idea about the shore plants. We have a prolific batch of lilies and parrots feather plants that come back alive each year. We get very good coverage of the entire pond, so herons and egrets will not be able to tell it is a pond from the air. Or, see to fish if they get here… We also have an automatic sprinkler with a sensor that will go off when it sees movement. It\’s not set up yet, by my hubby is doing Honey Dos today…. X

  6. ROCKET

    Good going! I was going to suggest a section of field drain pipe but couldn\’t for the life of me remember what it was called until just now!

  7. X-Evolutionist

    @Rocket: I can tell that God put a lot of thought into creating the animals. Why else would I have to work so hard to outsmart a bird?…. That fitting was expensive, $40. But, it was still cheaper than that worthless piece of plastic called a "Koi Kastle". My piece of mind is worth it, and I\’m a cheapskate. I mean I\’m thrifty… X

  8. ROCKET

    Ain\’t nothin\’ wrong with saving money…..you might need it for ammo!

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Rocket: I can\’t think of anybody I want to shoot right now. X

  10. ROCKET

    That\’s okay. Just give me a minute…………..

  11. X-Evolutionist

    @Rocket: Uh, that\’s OK…. X

  12. ROCKET

    No trouble. I\’ve already got a list started…. Dick Cheney, W, that one TI in basic training I\’m still mad at 38 years later………..

Leave a Reply

