Deleting all the Spam comments from my Windows Live Space is easier with Windows 7 Magnifier!

(Please note: the method for dealing with spam that I use assumes you check your space for spam very often, and that all your spam, and a lot of it, is on the Recent Comments page. Please see Hold the spam by Greg Edwards if you have not checked your space recently.)

—————–

I get a lot of Spam comments in my Windows Live Space to or three time a week. These Spam comments are miles and miles of hyperlinks. The spammers put them in many, many blog entries, making it difficult to delete quickly.

To check your Windows Live Space for all comments, including spam, click here: http://profile.live.com/recentcomments/. If you are as unlucky as I am, this is what you will see:

Page one of Spam

Since each comment is so long, you have to scroll down to the bottom of each comment to get to the “Delete” link.

Also, if you have new comments from your friends that you want to keep, you have to scroll down past them to get to the spam, and then scroll to the bottom of the spam comment.

I find scrolling down to the end of each spam comment tiring and time consuming. With this method there is no more need to scroll:

Each time I get spam, I try to find a faster and easier to delete it. This is the fastest and easiest way I have found so far.

First, put on some enjoyable music. If you are like me, there will be a lot of spam to delete, and even with this speedy method you will spend up to an hour, or more, deleting your spam comments.

First, change the “Zoom Level” of your browser. In Windows Explorer 8 go to the bottom right of the browser window and click the “Down Arrow”:

image

Then click “Custom” and change the “Percentage Zoom” to a little smaller than you can see easily. I use 25 percent:

image

At this small zoom level, the entire length of the spam message should be in one screen view of your browser window:

image

Now, to be able to more easily see the “Delete” link, open Windows 7 Magnifier here: All Programs/Accessories/Ease of Access/Magnifier:

image

On the Views menu, there are three modes:

  • Full-screen mode.
  • Lens mode.
  • Docked mode.

For this purpose, I use Lens Mode:

image

Select your level of Magnification. For this purpose I choose 200%:

image Now, move your mouse to the “Delete” link of your spam comment. The Lens Mode of the Windows 7 Magnifier will enable you to see it easily:

image

Now, while enjoying your music, get into the zone of clicking “Delete”, waiting for the screen to refresh and hovering over the “Delete” link for your next spam comment. Be patient. it will take a while. But, since you are not having to scroll, it will be quicker than you think.

I use one hand on the mouse, and one hand on the “Enter” key of my keyboard. It goes faster since I do not have to move my hand off my mouse to “Click OK to delete the comment” for each delete.

When you are finished deleting your spam, hover your mouse over the little magnifying glass somewhere on your screen and click it:

image

Your Magnifier menu will come up so you can close it:

imagePat yourself on the back for a good job well done…

Hopefully, it will be a few days before you have to delete spam again.

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

 

16 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

16 responses to “Deleting all the Spam comments from my Windows Live Space is easier with Windows 7 Magnifier!

  1. Jeffrey

    X, while all that spam can be long, wouldn\’t it be easier if you deleted this in batch mode? That\’s how I do it…

  2. Greg

    I found my comments on my previous post "Hold the Spam" (http://bit.ly/cII8uV). They may help elaborate about the batch mode to which Jeffrey\’s comment eluded…First, use the blog summary view. It allows you to quickly see and delete multiple (spam) comments at once for up to 20 blog posts without a lot of page reloads. Second, on the summary page, expand the comments links from the bottom up, because there\’s less scrolling that way. Third, check each comment as you make your way back down the page. Finally, scroll back to the top of the page and click Delete Selected Comments. 1, 2, 3…done!

  3. Jeffrey

    I guess I shouldn\’t assume that this batch mode is a well known feature and everybody knows about it already?? I\’ve been using it since day one. It works quite well for phony trackbacks too. It might make you wonder what else is in your Space that you haven\’t discovered quite yet, huh? Good luck to you X. That was a horrible mess of SPAM!! I think you must be cursed! LOL!

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Jeffrey @Greg: Here is something I say to myself in times like these: Everybody learns everything the first time sometime. There was a time when neither of you knew this trick. This is my time. Thanks for the heads up. X

  5. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg @Jeffrey: Wait a minute. This is not new to me. Since you were so passionate about this I thought it was something new. I write blogs very often. For me to look at all the comments in all my billions of blogs that have comments and check for spam takes more time. The method I use only shows the new comments. I don\’t have to look at all of my blogs that have comments as your "Batch" method requires. X

  6. Greg

    X, I suppose it just comes down to how you use Spaces, how often you get spam, and how much you have to manage. If you check your space every few days for spam, then it\’s pretty easy to see all the new comments, including spam, by looking at the Recent Comments. As you\’ve indicated, you can clean those comments out right there. On the other hand, the "batch" method is great for taking stock of yourcomments (and trackbacks) as a whole. You\’re right that it does make new comments indistinguishable from the older ones. Here\’s another idea for you. WL Spaces also provides a version of the site optimized for mobile devices at http://mobile.spaces.live.com. When you click on the "Your Space" link at the top of the page, it takes you to a page that displays a very condensed version of your recent comments, along with a handy Delete Comment link.I certainly meant no disrespect in my previous comment. This is such a diverse and inventive community of users, and I continue to be amazed at the myriad different ways that people have found to traverse these services. Thanks as always for sharing your personal insights!

  7. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: I know you meant no disrespect. I have done your "Batch" method once in a while to catch spam comments that snuck in through the cracks during times I had been offline for a while. It took a very very long time. These days I check my space for spam first thing every morning so nothing gets missed. I saved this link: http://mobile.spaces.live.com. I\’ll take it for a test drive next time I get spam. Thanks. Meet me in the Lost Group? X

  8. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: I edited my post to add a plug to your "Hold the Spam" blog for people who do not have all their spam in Recent Comments. X

  9. busuioc

    Yes, you have your right but as long as 50% of blogs have gone to do follow links began to encourage spam, there are situations can warn you: please do not spam, I want to communicate with a name not a word key

Leave a Reply

