“This document was successfully checked as HTML 4.01 Transitional”! (and they said it couldn’t be done)

I am a happy girl.

I’ve been working on my website for several weeks non-stop. I’ve been totally redoing the format and making it more user friendly.

To put the icing on the cake, I’ve been trying for days to get it checked as valid code per the W3C Markup Validation Service.

(Please see yesterday’s post for more info: An open letter, (or nasty-gram as my hubby would say), to Amazon.com…..)

It just passed! (Finally!) I have gotten this message for each of my eighteen pages: “This document was successfully checked as HTML 4.01 Transitional”!

I could not have done it myself. I have learned this stuff little by little over the years, and a lot of people have helped in many ways.

I have recently acquired a Fairy God Parent named Autocrat. Autocrat, who has been helping with several things lately, showed me last night that is possible to modify Amazon.com code to enable my pages to pass validation.

The big problem is that Amazon.com links are peppered with “&”s, which are not allowed. These give all bunches of errors. But, Autocrat generously shared knowledge that you can replace the “&”s with “&” and the other problems will go away!

With the Amazon.com errors gone, then I can find my own little oopsies like missing end tags, etc. Little things can really mess up a web page. (as me how I know…)

I have worked my little fingers to the bone with this Amazon.com code just so I can recommend my eleven favorite books on my website.

I was also having a pesky problem with my meta tags that would not validate. I want to thank Chris for finding a typo. Sometimes validator will have fits over something, but won’t come right out and say what caused it.

I will be adding more things to my website as time passes, and I hope to keep my code valid in the future.

The sun is out today, for a change, and it is warm outside. It is time for me to go out and play in the backyard with my pets. My pets have been very patient with me. But now my doggies want to show Mom how fast they can run, and my bunnies want to romp around the yard with Mom there for safety.

Woohoo! I actually got something done today!

image_thumb4

I have earned this award, and I will proudly display it here:

This website is Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

X

 Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

14 Comments

Filed under Computers and Internet

14 responses to ““This document was successfully checked as HTML 4.01 Transitional”! (and they said it couldn’t be done)

  1. X-Evolutionist

    I just feel like whooping it up one more time before I go out to play. Woohoo!! X

  2. Dave

    Cor, cross-blogpost conversations, whatever next! I think I was posting on the last blog at the same time you were posting this oneAnyway, Congratulations! I\’ve not managed that in years! I do use the validator to check for major issues, but don\’t bother changing the things they just don\’t like. For future reference, it\’s worth checking the WWWC entry on wikipedia. Whilst they are very polite, it gives some interesting insights into who the are. It\’s basically a private consortium of 356 people, mainly from huge businesses, who have appointed themselves as \’guardians of the internet\’. There last update as to what makes a good website was, I think, in 2004. (Greg will put me right on that one!). In any case, they are famous for being less tha cutting edge, simply because it isn\’t in their intrest to be so. On the other hand, if I go for WCAGWG 2.0 validation (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group – a disgruntled offshoot of WWWC!) I pass every time!

  3. Dave

    Ps, pleeeease don\’t think I\’m belittling your work, I am VERY impressed! The chances of me rebuilding other peoples dodgy links are very small indeed!

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Dave: My little site is nothing compared to what real webmasters such as yourself are able to do. I don\’t have anything fancy. As I said, I just use it as a tool, like spell check. You know what does not matter, and I don\’t. So, anyway, I\’m not trying to make a judgement call against anybody. I just want to make that clear. X

  5. Dave

    I LOVE the idea of W3c validation being like a spellcheck 🙂 🙂 :-)That is exactly what it is, although I think they might not see it like that ………………….

  6. Dave

    I also love the idea of being a webmaster. Wheres my whip? ("Down, javascript, DOWN – get back inside your curly brackets!) 🙂

  7. X-Evolutionist

    @Dave: Tee hee hee

  8. X-Evolutionist

    I made a lot of content revisions to my website this morning. I redid a whole page, plus a bunch of little things on various pages. Thank you W3C Validator for catching my little oopsies. Still valid! X

  9. X-Evolutionist

    I made even more revisions to my website this morning. I don\’t think I\’ll ever be finished with it. At least it\’s still valid. X

Leave a Reply

