Another icon of my childhood, the creator of “Gumby” and “Davey and Goliath”, has died.

I just posted yesterday about how much I love stop motion animation. Sadly, I neglected to mention the creator of “Gumby” and “Davey and Goliath”. It was my last chance to give him him roses while alive and I missed it.

Art Clokey has died.

Let’s honor his memory by singing the Gumby song:

The REAL Gumby Intro

And now, let’s watch an episode of Davey and Goliath:

Davey & Goliath: The Winner

(Trivia tidbit: I had been a grownup for many years before I found out that “the Davey and Goliath song” was actually “A Mighty Fortress is our God.)

Thank you, Mr. Clokey, for hours upon hours of enjoyment. Rest in peace.

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

2 responses to “Another icon of my childhood, the creator of “Gumby” and “Davey and Goliath”, has died.

  1. Rob

    is Davey and Goliath available to purchase on DVD? I remember that show when I was very very young.It was on the Commander Tom show or aired around the same time. LOL

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Rob: I just looked, and Davey and Goliath is available on DVD from Amazon.com. They were a show of their own. I\’m not familiar with Commander Tom. X

Leave a Reply

