Yet another health issue for me to practice not obsessing on: Now there is something wrong with my husband…..

In the past several days I have blogged about finding new mold in my house:

11/15/2009 Well, dang. No wonder I’m not getting any better. We found more mold yesterday. Rats.

and my dog, Belty, having some sort of an attack:

11/18/2009 Good news and bad news about my good boy dog Belty…

Now, it is my hubby’s turn to have a health issue….

In the past few days, he has developed severe groin pain, and he went to the doctor yesterday. They examined him, and sent him for an ultrasound. The doctor thinks that everything got twisted up and he needs an operation, at least….

My hubby, the “Work Horse”, is at work today, pain and all. He is very dedicated about supporting us, no matter how much I tell him he should be at home resting. (I can’t work anymore, so he works as much as possible.)

We are waiting for the doctor to get the results of the ultrasound before we know for sure what is wrong with my hubby.

During my rant about finding the mold in the first blog of this series, I finally remembered that Jesus says: “Do not worry”. In that post I explained that worrying about things I can’t control is something I’ve done for years and years – both in the many years before I was a Christian, and now, in the 13 years since I have been one.

The more you practice doing something the better at it you get. Please, Dear God, I don’t want anymore homework practicing not worrying….

Bad attitude, I know. But, I am still X, warts and all. I try to stop myself when I catch myself worrying about things I can’t control, but it is a very hard habit to break.

God has a plan where the health problems of me, my dog, and my hubby all make sense. He’s in charge of the timing, and there is nothing I can do about it.

Time again to practice my “Do Not Worry” homework:

This is Jesus speaking:

Matthew 6:25-34

Do Not Worry:

"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

"And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Jesus, I’ll get it another try, but I’m not promising anything….

X

     

Bookmark and Share

23 Comments

Filed under Health and wellness

23 responses to “Yet another health issue for me to practice not obsessing on: Now there is something wrong with my husband…..

  1. Jen

    Poor you, and poor Hubby. You know what? I was overjoyed that you said he\’s also a believer. That means I can tell you my story. Well, I hurt! No, I\’m not joking, I really hurt inn my arms. See, I had to go out shopping today as it\’s been ages since I\’ve been out and I was going a bit box crazy. I met some beautiful people (and a grumpy one, but hey, he perhaps doesn\’t know the Lord, eh?) We do:-) When we get to live with Him, we\’ll all have new bodies. So I don\’t worry, even when it hurts. Might sigh a little and use my T.E.N.S. machine but I don\’t worry. Since He\’s giving us new bodies and a beautiful sinless home to live in, I just asked Him to use my weakness for His glory. Know what? I even got a laugh out of it today! And, (praise the Lord), I managed to witness a little. Couldn\’t say much, but a couple of people now know that I love the Lord. May He bless the few words each of these souls heard. Oh, don\’t think for a minute it\’s always easy to sound this happy. Sometimes, it really hurts. (Er, like tonight!) But I\’m used to it. I do pray for special relief for your Husband, X, coz what you\’ve said here just ain\’t very nice. Glad he went for a check up. Many men don\’t. Tell him "well done".

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: I\’m very sorry you are in so much pain. I\’m happy that you use it as a witnessing tool. It is difficult to get my husband to the doctor, you are right about men! My poor hubby also has chronic, undiagnosed footpain that he has lived with since a teenager. He is "used to" living with intense pain, too. My hubby was raised in a Christian household. I did not believe in God when we met. I have my testimony on my website. I about killed him, figuratively speaking while he witnessed to me about the existence of God. X

  3. Les

    There is nothing worse than watching someone you love hurting, and there is nothing you can do to stop it. When my wife a alive, I would see her in agony and I always wished I could take her pain away even if it meant I would bear it instead of her. I would have gladly changed places with her when she was passing away. It is no fun…

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Les: I\’m very sorry that you lost your wife. I\’m sorry it was so difficult for you, but it sounds like you were a wonderful husband to her. I\’m happy that she had a supportive hubby in her time of need. X

  5. Grandpa Dewey

    X, sorry to hear about hubby, pain in the groin area is not good. Lets hope for good results from the test. Having an ultra-sound there doesn\’t sound like fun either. "Ouch, not to much pressure please"

  6. X-Evolutionist

    @Dewey: Thank you. The doctor was VERY thorough. When he came home, he walked in the door bowlegged. X

  7. Jen

    Does the dear soul actually MIND you telling us all this;-) But honestly, I pray he\’ll get good news.

  8. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: I did not ask or tell the dear soul about this blog. We are supposed to hear the results of the ultrasound today. At the very least, he needs an operation to untangle some things. We just don\’t know how bad the problem is beyond that. X

  9. Jen

    Today? That\’s quick. I\’m glad.

  10. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: What they told him was it would take 24 hours. His test was late yesterday afternoon. So, I hope we hear today. It will be a long weekend otherwise. X

  11. Jen

    I\’ll tell you which Scripture I adore when things are going a bit wonky. It\’s very strong: Proverbs 3:5-6"Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths."May you find a strong Blessing with this one, X. You both are in my heart and in my prayers.

  12. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: On our way to the emergency room. We just got my hubby\’s health report back from yesterday. The doctor wants him to go to the emergency room. He will be here in a few minutes. I\’m going with him. X

  13. Grandpa Dewey

    Our prayers are with the two of.

  14. Curtis

    I know sometimes I just worry about it all still. My wife tells me not to worry untill she worries then worry about it. I catch my self all caught up into thinking about whatever I am worring about. Jesus you can have this worry as you said we are demanded not to worry. Lord be with your Household!PTL

  15. X-Evolutionist

    UPDATE: My hubby is going to be OK. He won\’t need surgery. It\’s just a cyst. They are going to keep him hopped up on pain pills while the cyst goes away on its own. Thank you everybody. X

  16. Jen

    Praise the Lord!

  17. Curtis

    that\’s great news!

  18. Grandpa Dewey

    That is great news, just keep believing.

Leave a Reply

