Good news and bad news about my good boy dog Belty…

We took Belty to the vet yesterday. First the good news: They did more blood work, and his kidneys are doing better since he has been only eating the nasty tasting “special” food. Now the bad news: (after my favorite picture of Belty)

Belty triumphant after killing a stuffed toy...

The reason we were in the vet in the first place was because Belty must have had a stroke, or something. All of a sudden, Belty started falling down, not being able to walk. Then, he got up and started walking in circles. Then I noticed his eyes were moving back and forth very quickly. He looked dizzy.

The vet gave him some anti-inflammatory medicine and steroid. It could be an inner ear thing, but the vet just can’t tell at this point.

As I said in my last blog about finding more mold, I have to just give the situation to God. There is nothing I can do anyway. I’m not very good at not obsessing when things go wrong. But, the more things that go wrong, the more practice I get trying to trust God…..

We are trying to prepare for the worst, but we are hoping and praying that he will get better.

At this point, we know that Belty is going to die sooner than later anyway. As we adopted him from the pound as an adult, we don’t know his age, but he has to be at least thirteen because of how many years he’s lived with us.

When Belty comes to the point when he is not enjoying his life, I want God to take him to Dog Heaven (actually, I prefer that dogs be in people heaven) But, seriously, I do believe in Heaven, but any place is better with dogs……

(my hubby and I are Born Again Christians, but we are radical in our belief that God abandons nobody, and everybody will eventually be in Heaven, no matter what religion they were in. We do not believe that God would create people, knowing they would reject Him, and then put them in the “fiery pit of Hell” for eternity. There is no “fiery pit of Hell”. That is not Biblical, just a tradition made by men. That’s a blog for another day)

Back to Belty: I love my boy dog. He is “Mom’s Main Man”. But, I have to trust that God is going to do what is best. I do not want him to suffer. At this point in time, Belty is scared. He does not know why the room is spinning around and he does not know why he can’t walk straight. The only time he seems alright is when he is asleep.

Belty hanging out with Mom (me) on the patio.

I do not know if he is going to get better or worse. But, when God says is is time for him to die, my hubby and I are going to cry big tears for a very long time. I’m already crying a couple times a day just thinking about it, and my hubby is, too. But, Jesus tells me not to worry, and like I said in my last blog about the new mold we found, it is a hard lesson to learn. I hate homework.

I’m going to reprint the “Do Not Worry” passage of the Bible as I did in my mold blog. This is Jesus speaking:

Matthew 6:25-34

Do Not Worry:”Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Jesus, I’ll keep trying, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to do it, even though you command it.

X

 

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments

Filed under Dogs, Pets

4 responses to “Good news and bad news about my good boy dog Belty…

  1. Sue

    Sorry to hear Belty has been poorly again, and you too! It sounds as though Belty has Vestibular syndrome. Our dog had this earlier this year, she is a lot younger though, she\’s 6. She has made a complete recovery but I understand this condition can occur again. God Bless you and if you can worry you can meditate – Phillippians 4: Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. It does take practice to replace worry with scripture, it is a journey we are all on learning to trust instead of worry. Sue x

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Sue: I looked up "Vestibular syndrome"http://www.vetinfo.com/dencyclopedia/devestib.htmlIt sounds just like Belty, right down to the head tilt and the sea sickness. It\’s nice to know that some dogs can get better. Thank you very much for this diagnosis.Also, thank you very much for the scripture from Phillipians chapter 4. Thank you for letting me know I\’m not alone with learning to trust God. X

  3. Pingback: My good boy dog Belty seems to be recovering from his stroke! | X-Evolutionist's Space

  4. Pingback: My good boy dog Belty seems to be recovering from his stroke! | X-Evolutionist.com

Leave a Reply

