Well, dang. No wonder I’m not getting any better. We found more mold yesterday. Rats.

Background: I’ve written in the last two years about my lung disease. When I was diagnosed, my hubby started making the house dust-free for me, and ripped out the wall to wall carpet. That’s when we found mold the FIRST time.

It was from a leak in the bathroom, apparently. We had found the leak some time back, but did not realize that mold was growing where we couldn’t see it. When my hubby ripped up the carpets, he found mold under the carpets in the rooms adjacent to the bathroom: my bedroom, where I spent eight hours a day, and my office, where I spent another eight hours a day.

I had worked at home for seven years. It was the best job in the world. Having no oxygen in my brain, caused by my yet undiagnosed  lung disease, made me lose my job. Rats.

Time passes…..

Last week, my hubby painted the concrete, carpet-less, floor in the living room. Yesterday, since the floor looked so nice, he decided to paint the walls. He started sanding an area that had peeling paint, and lo and behold, more mold was underneath the peeling paint. A nice really big patch of mold.

The really crumby thing is that since I’ve been sick, I’ve spent all my time in my lazy boy chair in the living room. So, once again, mold is in the room I spend most of my time.

Well, heck. No wonder I’m not getting better…..

The peeling paint is adjacent to the ceiling. We poked around with a screwdriver to see how bad it is, and a screwdriver easily goes right through the drywall into the attic.

Who knows how far this problem extends. We just had a new roof put up a few months ago. Maybe our roof leaked and and we did not know it.

Anyway, this is not fun news. I did some research on mold yesterday online. We printed out a stack of info from the state health department and the US Environmental Protection Agency. I also called a certified mold inspector. We are going to get the whole house checked out once and for all this week I hope.

Me getting sick and having no income for two years has made things tight financially. We’ve been very frugal to make the money stretch. I’m a little nervous about how extensive the mold in the attic is. It’s not like it is going to be an optional expense.

We’ve called our insurance company yesterday, too. They said that mold is not covered, but water damage is. Anyway, perhaps some of the cost of getting rid of the mold might be covered by insurance for the water damage. I hope I hope I hope I hope I hope….

I’ve been feeling really punky lately, more than usual. (Punky is my word for feeling in general ill health. That definition is not in the dictionary, so don’t bother…..)

Another thing, feeling sick all the time makes it more difficult for me to handle stress….

I’ve been letting Windows Live know about the spam problem in Spaces comments since last February. I’ve recently realized that there is an endless supply of “No name” accounts available to Spammers. Even if Windows Live DID close the accounts of the reported known spammers, that would not make a dent in it since they keep getting new accounts every few weeks. Anyway, since I’ve been feeling so sick all the time lately, I had to back up from the spam issue.

After I first got sick, my hubby moved my computer out of my office. Now, the computer is in the living room, hooked to our HDTV and I have a wireless keyboard and mouse in my lazy boy chair. All this within breathing distance of the newly found crop of mold. Dang it….

Oh well. This is just a post for no apparent reason. I guess I just needed to rant and get it off my  chest. Grr.

X

Edited to add:

The next morning, Monday, November 16:

When I wrote this yesterday, it was just cathartic to deal with the frustration. Now, I’m asking for help. I would appreciate your prayers, if that is your thing, but kind thoughts are totally welcome, too. I’m scared.

All of my birds, with their little bitty lungs, have been living in the living room right under where we found the mold. As I said before, being sick makes it more difficult for me to handle stress. I could not sleep last night because of worrying about everything. I think the worst thing I’m worried about is having to move out of my home while they do the work. I have dogs, birds, bunnies (plus my pond goldfish). I don’t want to have to board my pets.

—————–

An “Aha" moment just came to me when I was writing that.

I feel that God is trying to teach me (again) to rely on him. I really have not been a Christian very long (only 13 years) for my age (over 50).  I was used to running my own life for a long time. I was the all-powerful Super Career Girl (in my own mind), and that is very difficult to let go of. This is an other opportunity for me to learn to trust God. Dang. I hate this kind of homework.

You know, in math class, how you had to keep working the same kinds of problems over and over until you could do them well? I think this is God’s way of telling me I have an other opportunity to learn to trust him. I would rather do algebra and geometry, thank you very much.

Jesus specifically says “Do Not Worry”. I am totally going against Jesus’ advice when I worry about things. Besides, it is extra silly to worry about things over which I have no control, anyway.

Well, I guess this is a good time for me to start meditating on this passage again:

Matthew 6:25-34

Do Not Worry:

"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

"And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Thank you, Jesus, for an other opportunity to get to know you better. Sorry I’m such a hard-head.

X

     

Bookmark and Share

36 Comments

Filed under Health and wellness

36 responses to “Well, dang. No wonder I’m not getting any better. We found more mold yesterday. Rats.

  1. Curtis

    So sorry to hear that. Its weird tha your insurance doesnt cover mold. I hope that is all the problems you have with it.

  2. Jen

    This is awful news, X. Right on top of winter, too. I will keep you in prayer. I\’m truly sorry to read this.

  3. X-Evolutionist

    @Curtis:@Jen: Thank you very much! This week we will know the extent of it, and what we have to do to fix it. X

  4. ROCKET

    I used to run a crew for a company specializing in fire and flood restoration. Even with sophisticated equipment and modern fungicide mold is a real bear to get rid of. I hope you don\’t have to start tearing down walls.

  5. Tracey

    What a bummer! l\’m so glad you found it and you\’re having an expert in to inspect. ln the meantime, keep the windows open and stay close to one. Even if it\’s cold. Put the heat up and get well covered but keep the windows open. l\’ve got my fingers crossed it\’s just the one area and you can get it covered! Good luck X!!

  6. X-Evolutionist

    @Rocket Man:@Tracey:Thank you for the advice and comments. The fun starts soon. I\’m supposed to hear from my insurance agent and a mold remidiation company this morning. It will be more than just cleaning, I know. We have a hole in the ceiling. When my hubby found the mold when he was sanding some trim in the ceiling, we poked around to see how bad it is. The drywall is totally rotted under the paint. We have insulation on top of the dryway, too. So, taking it out is going to be a mess. Who knows how extensive the problem is. X is not happy…..

  7. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: Boy, did I ever have an "Aha Moment" just now. I was writing an update to this blog entry, and my attitude totally changed in the middle of it. It turns out that this is another opportunity for me to try (again) to learn to trust God. I\’ve never been good at it. I\’m going to meditate on what Jesus said: Do Not Worry: Matthew 6:25-34. Wow, I can\’t believe how relaxed I feel suddenly. Thank you, Jesus. X

  8. Grandpa Dewey

    X- Evolutionist,We are sorry to hear about this, mold is not a good thing, however it is everywhere. The prayers will work just believe in them. We have seen them work for us. Just turn it all over to God. Yes worrying about things that you cannot control is very stressful. You will be in our prayers.God Bless you and your Hubby.PS to this. mold here in Texas was a big thing a few years ago for all the insurance companies. They were being sued left and right over mokd problems.

  9. Jennifer

    Sorry to hear about the discovery of the mold and the fact that it is not helping your health. I hope the mold inspector does a thorough job so that you are feeling better in no time as well as any potential issues with your pets.Hang in there, take each day as it comes and only control what you can. Stress is hard to let go of, but in the end you will be happier to take that path.Good luck! Hope that the insurance company comes up with something to help.

  10. X-Evolutionist

    @Jennifer: Thank you very much! X

  11. Jen

    I\’m overjoyed to read your message today about trusting in Jesus! Absolutely overjoyed. I prayed that you would, for He\’s the only one Who can get us out of all our "scrapes"! I pray you\’ll have this sorted easily enough, X. Love Jen

  12. John

    Hi X, that is some problem. Mold is really bad, I hope you get good news on the getting rid of it. We moved out of an apartment here because over the winter the humidifier we had to use, due to my wife\’s asthma, reacted to the drywall wrong and caused mold to grow in the drywall itslef, it started to grow everywhere. Make sure in the future to keep pleanty of ventalation going in the warm months. Hope it all works out for the best and with minimal impact to your life there.

  13. Curtis

    Very true. God telling us no to worry. Not a sugestion but a commandment. He is the only one who can get us through. Thank you Jesus!

  14. Jen

    Wow, Curtis! You love the Lord too? That\’s fantastic. How lovely to know I have another Brother in Christ on this Network as well. Praise the Lord:-)Wass latest, X? Any news yet?

  15. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: Thank you for all your comments of support and good advice. X

  16. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: Insurance inspector was just here. He said they will submit a claim for "water damage" as a part of our "hail damaged roof" claim from earlier this year. The contractor will remove and replace the drywall, but we are responsible for paying for work specifically dealing with the mold. It this were a perfect world, the mold will be completely isolated to the water damaged portion of the drywall, and not all over the joists, too. We should hear next week for when construction will be. X

  17. Jen

    Will it cost much to sort the wall out then?

  18. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: We won\’t know the extent of the work until it starts. I don\’t exactly know how it will all work out. Since we already paid the deductible on the hail-damaged roof, and since this new work is being added to that claim, the drywall work to fix the water damage (but not the mold) is covered by the insurance. Anything beyond the drywall that is specifically to clean the mold, and fix damage the mold did, is NOT covered. So, we won\’t know how much it will cost until the job is finished. A long answer to a short question, but it\’s the best I could do…I\’m happy we will be getting some help with the cost of the total job, though. X

  19. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: PS: The problem is that you have to tear down all the drywall before you can see how bad the mold has spread. All we can see it the tip of the moldy iceburg. X

  20. Jen

    I don\’t know what you guys call a drywall. Must be an internal wall, yeah? Or not? We don\’t have those terms here, that I\’ve ever heard before. I truly hope things go to plan. \’Nother prayer on the list for you two.

  21. Curtis

    My Dad always called it Sheetrock. Never knew it was also called drywall untill later on. Its also called Gysom board. I have wood panneling in most of my house and leaks before but I dont know what it is about drywall that hold in moisture.

Leave a Reply

