Happy 40th Anniversary to Sesame Street!

40th Anniversary of Sesame Street

I just was going to do a Google search and I saw Cookie Monster! Google is celebrating the fact that Sesame Street came on TV 40 years ago.

40 years ago, I was in high school. I would check out Sesame Street after school.

Then, as now, I think it is a very clever show.

Hey, I’m not ashamed to like puppets! When I was little, I loved Kukla Fran and Ollie. Ollie was a dragon. I cut up a lot of my father’s argyle socks to make my own version of dragon puppets.

Winchell Mahoney Time, another puppet show, had Paul Winchell (who became the original voice of “scrubbing bubbles) had Jerry Mahoney and Knucklehead Smith.

Before that,  The Ed Sullivan Show had Senor Winces. He made his puppet from coloring a face on his hand. Every Friday after school, I would take out my markers and make my hand into a puppet. It would be mostly washed off by Monday when I had to go back to school. Topo Giggio was on Ed Sullivan, too, but I liked Senor Winces better.

Before that, and before my time, Edgar Bergan had Mortimer Snerd and Charlie McCarthy. I see them in old movies. Edgar and his puppets did a radio show. Puppets on the radio? Yes indeed!

Now, there is Jeff Dunham and Terry Fader. There is Dunham’s Bubba J. There’s a good resemblance to Mortimer Snerd, don’t you think?

I’m sure I’m forgetting some of the puppet shows I watched, and I hope somebody will post and remind me.

So, am I ashamed that I like to watch Sesame Street once in a while? Nope.

Happy Anniversary to Cookie, Grover, Bert, Ernie, Big Bird, and everybody else! (Grover is my favorite character – His bit where he teaches “Near” and “Far” cracks me up just thinking of it. Poor Grover running to and from the camera, over and over and over. Edited to add: I found a video of it:

Edited to add: Oh no, I almost forgot Shari Lewis and Lambchop.

I could post about puppets all day long…..

Edited to add:

Today’s Google page is dedicated to Bert and Ernie:

X

40th Anniversary of Sesame Street

     

Bookmark and Share

14 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

14 responses to “Happy 40th Anniversary to Sesame Street!

  1. Jennifer

    Awesome post! I saw that on Google, but didn\’t have a chance to see what the occassion was. I loved Sesame Street too and the classic characters on there. I loved Cookie Monster and not ashamed to admit I like Snuffy too! 🙂

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Jennifer: Thank you for telling me that I\’m not the only one who love the characters on Sesame Street! X

  3. Abdol Rahim

    40 years ago, you was in high school!? What is your age by now?

  4. ThisIsMyHomeRightHereWithYou

    I wondered why when google came up it had cookie monster, i also used to watch Seaseme Street, (along with Fraggle Rock~) Blimey feels like sooo long ago now (24years ago) when i was a kid it was on on a Sat morning, Got me thinking now X- way back then my mum would put the sat morning cartoons on whilst she baked, washed clothes, tidyied house ect, afterwards we would go for walks, play games or just play on our own.I think of today, where kids cartoons are near 24/7, what they watch in a morning is repeated again at tea time, it\’s far easyier and quicker to buy buns, pies ect from the shop, washing clothes is a case of dump them in washer and switch on, and tidying house gets puts on a back burner due to being addicted to the net. It isn\’t that us parents dont want to play family games with our kids, today it is a case of the kids dont know how to play games. Bring back the good ole days how simple things like cartoons have changed our childrens lives dramatically…although best not lol the girls would starve. Was bill and ben, The flumps from 40 years ago, not sure if they are classed as puppets Take care X

  5. X-Evolutionist

    SweetSunnySide: It sounds like you like these things as much as I do! X

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Bert and Ernie are featured on Google.com today. X

  7. Diana

    Sesame Street was a great educational resource for me. I learnt English and Western culture from Sesame Street. I used to watch it everyday after school too.

  8. X-Evolutionist

    @Diana Le: That is truly amazing! I\’ve heard of people learning to speak English from watching television and movies, but not Sesame Street. But, come to think of it, it is not that surprising at all once I think about it. It is a show to teach children the alphabet and numbers and how to read, so why would\’t it work as an English as a second language teacher! Thank you for telling me about that! X

  9. Diana

    lol…not a prob, X. Movies, TV shows, books, daily life all help me to learn English but there is no structure in those situations. They are all contextual. Words can only be understood in those situations. Sesame Street takes the language out of context and teach the mechanics of the language. How to sound out words and how to memorise spelling of certain sounds. They sometimes talk about grammar too. Very useful.

Leave a Reply

