“Windows Live Spam Central Reporting Service” is open for business! (Now Closed)

(Edited to add: Report your Windows Live Spaces comment spammer’s profile urls in the comments of this post: “Windows Live Spaces Spam Central Reporting Service” is open for business again! Post spammer profile urls here – Progress report added!)

— Please see update at end of page —

This is not a joke. I am dead serious. I  have the time and inclination, and I hereby volunteer to report and follow up on people who repeatedly post spam advertisements in Windows Live Space comments. I have a list of Spammers that I’ve already reported.

First off, you may have spam and not know it. This link: http://profile.live.com/recentcomments/, shows “Recent Comments”. Often, my “Recent Comments” are all spam.

If you get Spam posts in your comments, look this list: List of Reported Spammers. to see whether that spammer has already been reported. If not, please PM the spammer’s profile url to me so I can report it and add it to the list.

I’ve been reporting spam for so long that Windows Live Support have noticed me. In my humble opinion, I think we have a better chance of getting a better system for spam reporting if all of our reports come from the same place. Also, only the person who reports it can follow up on it, and I want to follow up on it.

This is a last resort due to the problem as described below (also see the bottom of this page for links to blogs documenting the spam problem over this past year)

The Windows Live Administration is not properly handling our reports of people posting spam in our community. Perhaps they do not understand how big the problem is, and do not consider it a priority. I intend to show Windows Live Administration just how bad the situation is, and I hope to get your help.

Posting spam is a violation of the Code of Conduct, but there is not an efficient way of dealing with the offenders as yet. Our reports are many, and the results are few. Accounts are still open after being reported months ago.

“Spam” was added to the pull-down menu of offenses on October 7, 2009. (I have been asking for since February 2009) But, our reports are still being sent back for more information, instead of being handled immediately, as should be the case.

Previously, the only way to report a spammer was under “Other”. I thought that’s why the reports were automatically sent back for more information. But, apparently that is not the case.

In my humble opinion, the profile of a spammer shows the activity of the spammer, and is the only information that is needed in a “Report Abuse’ complaint against a spammer.

I decided to start the “Windows Live Spam Central Reporting Service” for this reason: I believe that if the spam is reported in a consistent manner, and followed up on, our problems with spam will have a better chance of being handled properly.

Also, hopefully, I hope to develop a two-way communication with Windows Live Administration through my repeated contact and that my efforts will help my fellow residents of “Windows Live Town” in the long run.

I, like many others, are very discouraged with this situation. I love my Windows Live Community. Due to health reasons that keep me from being able to work, I have time I can devote to this continuing problem.

Your participation with “Windows Live Spam Central Reporting Service” is desired, but not mandatory. If you think that my plan is a good idea, please PM me the URLs of the profiles of accounts that have no other activity but posting spam.

I will report spammers made know to me, make a note of the “Support Ticket Number”, and follow up until the account is deactivated.

From now on, when you get spam in your comments, hover over the spammers icon, click the little arrow, and scroll to “View Profile”. Once at the profile, check the profile url against the list of reported Spammers below. If it is a new Spammer copy the url of the offender’s profile and send it to me by PM.

Please do not ignore spammers! If you just delete the spam, and not report it, they are free to keep spamming the rest of Windows Live. Let’s work together on this.

The Spammers that are known to me so far are in an Excel file in my Public Skydrive folder.

Check your space for spam regularly with this link:

http://profile.live.com/recentcomments/

If you have spam, check the spammer’s profile url against this list:

http://cid-25a0033dd834dd1d.skydrive.live.com/view.aspx/.Public/Spammers.xls

If the profile url is not on the list, PM the url to me. I will report it and add it to the list.

Everybody, as always. Don’t just delete spam, get it reported first. The spammers history shows on his profile, so it is not necessary to keep the spam comments. Go ahead and delete them after they are reported.

When our fight against spam has a happy ending, I will be posting the happiest celebratory post you have ever read.

Thank you for your help fighting spam.

X

A special Thank You goes to TG for interviewing me for Round and About Windows Live Ed 5 about the Spam situation here in Windows Live.

My related posts from the past year:

Edited to add:

Fellow Spam Haters: I’ve come to the realization that my efforts are pointless as long as there is a never-ending supply of “No name” accounts available to new Spammers: The whole time that I’ve been reporting fires to Windows Live, Windows Live has been handing out matches.

I’m taking a break from maintaining the Spammers spreadsheet for the time being. I’ve let Windows Live know about this Spam problem many times in many ways since February 2009. We can only hope that all my efforts will cause some changes in the next wave to come.

Signed: X

Nov. 11, 2009 

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

17 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

17 responses to ““Windows Live Spam Central Reporting Service” is open for business! (Now Closed)

  1. X-Evolutionist

    Please note: Be sure to copy the URL of the Spammer\’s profile before deleting Spam! We need to report it, not just delete it. Thank you!X

  2. technogran

    Why can\’t you send me a PM X? I can send you one? Will have to investigate my settings hang on………….

  3. X-Evolutionist

    Hi TG. I\’ve responded to your message. Thank you! X

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: I already have had two reports today of spammers today. Keep those spammer profile urls coming to me. I\’ll keep on top of the situation until it changes. X

  5. Prue

    m.add@livekeeps IMing me :\\i shall show the URL once he IMs me again, for i deleted hte box :\\

  6. X-Evolutionist

    @Prue: I\’m sorry, I can\’t help with your IM issue. I am only volunteering to help with the spam problem in Windows Live Spaces comments. Good luck with your IM problem. X

  7. X-Evolutionist

    Prue: I\’m sorry, but I can\’t help you with this. That person is not posting Spam advertisements in Windows Live Space comments. You will have to find help someplace else. I am only volunteering to do one thing, and this is not it. Sorry. X

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Spam Haters: I\’ve edited this post so that it includes a spreadsheet of the Spammers that I have reported. Please check your spammers against this list before reporting them. Admin is already ignoring our reports, no sense reporting them multiple times. Thanks, X

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: Have you checked your space for Spam lately? This link gets all recent comments, no matter where in your Space: http://profile.live.com/recentcomments/ Check your Spammers against the list on this blog entry. If it is a new Spammer, PM the profile url to me. Thanks, X

  10. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: With all my efforts, I have made no dent in the amount of spam that is being posted. All of the accounts that I have reported are still open. Why? Spam is against the Code of Conduct, and I\’ve reported it as such on the Report Abuse links on each account\’s page. The ironic thing is that you have to put in captcha text to report violators, while violators are free to post without anything to slow them down. X

  11. Dare

    Can you send me an email at my work address (dareo AT microsoft DOT com) and I\’ll see what I can do about reporting the spammers that you\’ve found thus far. I\’ve talked to people on the team and they are aware of the issues. Thanks for your support.

  12. X-Evolutionist

    @Dare: Thank you. I have an excel file in my Public Skydrive. It has the profile account numbers and the support ticket numbers from the abuse reports. Also, this blog post has a lot of background of the situation. I appreciate that you contacted me about this. X

  13. Stace

    ALOT OF PEOPLE KEEP GETTING AN INSTANT MESSAGE SAYING I BLOCKED THEM, OR THEY BLOCKED ME!? WHERE WOULD THIS COME FROM, I NEVER SENT ANYONE ANYTHING, & THEY SAY THEY NEVER SENT IT TO ME! WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON WITH THIS SPAM CRAP!?

  14. X-Evolutionist

    @Stacey: I\’m sorry I can\’t help with your situation. I am only volunteering to help with one thing: I volunteer to report and follow up on people who repeatedly post spam advertisements in Windows Live Space comments. I don\’t have anything thing to do with email and instant messages. Sorry. X

  15. Tracey

    l can\’t view the list of spammers . Has it been taken down?

  16. X-Evolutionist

    @Tracey: It\’s in my Public skydrive folder if you want to go straight there. You see an icon, and you click it to open it. It\’s an Excel spreadsheet, and sometimes you have to slide the sliders to get to the top left corner where the list is. X

Leave a Reply

