Trackbacks for Dummies – A Step by Step Pictorial guide to adding Trackbacks in Windows Live Spaces Blog entries.

In this post, I am only going to show how to add trackbacks. Please see these posts by my good buddy Greg for information about what trackbacks are and how to use them:

In a nutshell, you use a trackback to add a link to your post at the bottom of a related post.

First off, I want to explain that I’m the dummy that this blog post is for. I wanted to add trackbacks to some of my blog entries this morning, but I had only put in one trackback in my life, and that was long ago. I couldn’t quite understand Greg’s excellent post (my fault, not his).

The last time I did a trackback, Greg held my hand, figuratively speaking, and walked me through it step by step. Unfortunately, I find it a difficult topic to understand for some reason.

While I did my trackbacks this time, I documented each step with profuse screen captures for the next time I want to do one. While I’m at it, I might as well share it with you.

First, go to the blog where you want a link to your blog entry to show, and copy the trackback url from the very bottom of the page:

 

Trackback url

 

Next, go to your own Space. In edit mode, click “Summary” at the top left corner of your blog:

 

Summary

 

In Summary mode, use the “Date” feature or the “Category” feature (click arrow next to “Date”) to find the blog entry you want to link to that other blog entry:

 

Summary

 

Once you find your blog entry, click “Edit” and then scroll down a little and click “Add Trackbacks”, and a text entry field will open:

 

Add trackbacks

 

Paste in the trackback url from the blog where you want your blog entry’s link to show:

 

Add trackbacks

 

Click Publish entry to save your trackback:

 

Publish entry

 

Now, go back to the original blog entry (refresh the screen if it was still open) and you will see the link to your blog entry (I went through this process with each of nine blog entries, to link them to each other – As you can see, I’ve been documenting a temporary situation in Windows Live)

 

Trackbacks

If you wish, you can set it up so that only fellow Windows Live members, and not people wishing to leave spam advertisements for their websites, can leave trackbacks. Go to Options/Blog:

 

Blog options

That will take you to this page:

 

Blog options

 

Scroll down the page to the “Trackbacks” section. Click: “Allow trackbacks only from other Windows Live services to my blog”

 

Allow trackbacks only from other Windows Live services to my blog

You can also click to not allow trackbacks at all. Click “Save” once you’ve made your choice.

So now we both know how to add trackbacks!

Have fun!

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

Windows Live Tags: Clubhouse, Spaces, Blog, trackbacks, how to, how-to

14 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

Leave a Reply

