There is a mystery person in my backyard … I found her thanks to “Windows Live Photo Gallery” People Tags…

I was tagging some photos in Windows Live Photo Gallery just now, and I found a mystery person in my backyard…..

Windows Live Photo Gallery is a wonderful program. It is available individually or as part of the Windows Live Essentials Suite of programs.

Windows Live Photo Gallery recognizes faces. When you look at a family photo, the faces of your family members will have a square around them and are all ready for you to tag them with their name.

Does it surprise you that Windows Live Photo Gallery recognizes faces? Would you like some proof? Below is a picture of my cockatiel, Penny, with my good boy dog, Belty (wearing his neckerchief) off to the side. I was tagging pictures of my pet birds because I’m writing a blog about my parakeets. Once they are tagged, I’ll be able to find them easily.

Here is what Windows Live Photo Gallery looks like:

Windows Live Photo Gallery

Look at the bottom corner, near the end of Penny’s tail. There is a face outlined by Windows Live Photo Gallery! In addition, in the top right corner of the screen, I am invited to “Identify” the person found:

Identify

This is an optical illusion that resembles a face well enough that Windows Live Photo Gallery recognized it as a face.

It was caused by pictures of the stones around my goldfish pond and my park bench, and the railing from my patio cover. The end of the handle of my park bench forms the eye, gravel forms the nose, and my garden hose forms the mouth. I think this Mystery Person looks a little like the Statue of Liberty.

Liberty                The real Statue of Liberty

The program recognizes faces in a picture, and puts squares around them so you can identify them with Tags.

Tag someoneLiberty            

When you click on one of the outlined faces, the Tag Someone menu pops up. The Tags you used most recently will be at the top. If it is a new person, start typing the name in the blank. The words “Add New Person” will appear. Click on that to add the new person to your list of tags.

  add new personLiberty

Once the face is tagged, the Tag will fly up when you hover over the face:

Statue of Liberty tag

I most often use photo tags to identify pictures of my many pets. The program does not recognize anything except human faces, but you can still tag them. Click on “Tag Someone” and you can draw a square around their face. The “Tag Someone” box will fly up and you can pick a name on the list or write in a new one as before.

 People tags

The People Tags look the same whether Windows Live Photo Gallery finds the faces or you outline them yourself, as for profile views or for pets.

penny tag

Once everybody in your picture is tagged, the people will be listed in alphabetical order in the top right corner of Photo Gallery:

 tag list

As you hover your curser over the names, the tags will show and the faces will be outlined. This way, it is really easy to see who is in a picture, and where they are!

Belty tag

My good boy Belty does not show up very well in this picture, but I still want to tag all the pictures that he is in.

In addition to “People Tags” there is also “Descriptive Tags” and “Caption”. These work very much the same as the “People Tags”.

Tagging is just one reason why you should give Windows Live Photo Gallery a try! There are many more wonderful features, and it is a very straightforward and simple program to use.

X

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

15 Comments

Filed under Cockatiels, Windows Live

15 responses to “There is a mystery person in my backyard … I found her thanks to “Windows Live Photo Gallery” People Tags…

  1. Jen

    Oh, that\’s funny! Finding a face in the stones, etc! Oof! I wouldn\’t tell Microsoft if I were you;-)

  2. Mandy

    Maybe it recognises impressionist art too, the face looks a little Picasso or Dali ?

  3. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: I think it is a compliment to Microsoft that Photo Gallery found this face. It won\’t hardly miss any front views of real people if it sees this. X

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Mandy: That\’s a good question! I\’d like to try it if I had a picture. X

Leave a Reply

