The benefits of being a social outcast …

I hear a lot about “peer pressure”. That’s when a group of kids supposedly gets each other to do the wrong thing. I am one of the lucky ones. I had no problem with peer pressure …. I was in the marching band with the other dweebs.

The kids I hung around with were the other kids in the marching band. There were a couple of popular kids – our sousaphone player was on the football team, but mostly, we were social outcasts.

I don’t even recall being asked to do things that were not appropriate. At school, I never got into drugs, sex, drinking, skipping school, or any of the myriad things that happen due to “peer pressure”.

During the time I saved by not going to parties and getting in trouble, I did my homework and watched old movies on TV.

So, what did being in the band do for me besides making me a social outcast? It got me a hubby!

As a grownup, I joined the community band. Years later, the man I was to marry walked in. The first time I saw him walk into the band room, my heart skipped a beat. One of those love at first sight things.

He played trumpet, I played clarinet, but somehow the brass kisser and the reed sucker got together.

My anniversary is coming up soon, so I just thought I’d mention how we met for no apparent reason.

If you are reading this sweetie, I love you very much.

X

23 Comments

Filed under Hobbies

23 responses to “The benefits of being a social outcast …

  1. Jen

    Oh, big squeezy hugs! Happy anniversary, the pair of you.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Hi Jen, Thanks! X

  3. Curtis

    Aw how nice. Happy Anniversary both of you.

  4. ThisIsMyHomeRightHereWithYou

    Happy aniversary to you both, love at first sight that is so sweet.

Leave a Reply

