What if I’m wrong and there is no God?

I’m pretty open (though I hope not pushy) about my faith in God as creator of the heavens, the earth, and all living things. I get called out on it a lot. Just yesterday, out of the blue in the comments of my Snopes.com post, my faith was criticized.

What if the people who think I’m nuts are right? What if I’m wrong, and there is no God?

Would the rest of my life be wasted because I praise God every day?

Would the rest of my life be wasted because I think I’m a special creation in the eyes of God?

Would the rest of my life be wasted because I think I  have a personal God who loves me, who I can talk to when things are all going wrong?

Would the rest of my life be wasted because I believe that God can send me a special song when I need it?

If you think I’m deluded and worship a God who does not exist, I don’t mind a bit.

X

You might also want to see this post:

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

69 Comments

Filed under My Faith

69 responses to “What if I’m wrong and there is no God?

  1. Jen

    Psalm 14:1 and Psalm 9:10 are good enough for me! There are, of course, loads more from everywhere in the Bible.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: Good ones!Psalm 14: 1 The fool says in his heart, "There is no God." Psalm 9:10 Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.I was too hardheaded to believe the Bible as a source of information until I ruled out the other ways life could have gotten here without a creator. X

  3. Jen

    It doesn\’t matter how any of us find Him, X – just as long as we find him:-)

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: God tried to get me for many years. I can see that now, but at the time, I had my mind made up, and there was no need for God in my philosophy. X

  5. Jen

    My two biggest problems were living with total unforgiveness and hatred of certain situations. I hope I\’m past all that, now. These two things easily block the Light, if ya get me.

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: Unforgiveness is a problem for a lot of people, me included. Good think that God\’s love for us is not conditional. X

  7. Greg

    In my opinion, the only harm that can come from having personal faith in a higher power is an over-reliance on someone else to fix your problems, like those folks who won\’t take any medicine because they think God will heal them. Most of the faithful seem to understand that you gotta meet halfway.There\’s an old addage in which a flood is coming. The local authorities come in a truck to evacuate the people, but this one old fool won\’t leave his house. He says, "I know that God will save me." The rain starts to fall, the waters rise, and the rescuers return in a boat. He still won\’t budge, telling them "I know that God will save me." More rain falls, and the old man\’s house is quickly submerged. Now he\’s up on his roof, and the rescuers return in a helicopter. They are astonished that he still won\’t leave. He says, "I know that God will save me." Of course he drowns. When he meets God in Heaven, he says, "I had faith in you. Why didn\’t you save me?" God replies, "Hey, I sent a truck, a boat, and a helicopter. What more do you want?"

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Greg: That joke is to ridicule believers. If I, personally, was on my house in a flood, I would thank God for the first help that arrived. My policy is: "When in doubt, thank God". As for the people who don\’t believe in medicine, there are fringe groups in every belief system. They do not speak for the majority. X

  9. Jen

    I see both sides of Greg\’s story. Remember – we\’ve all been there, on the side of unbelief. It took me many, many years to come to grips with what I was dealing with. I\’ve also had to deal with religious bigotry in one form or another, which also turned me off, very badly. I don\’t take drugs for my arthritis. I choose a safer method. I\’ve seen at first hand what some of these potions do to people. One of them almost killed my mother. Two other "products" have given my husband incurable side-effects, which he\’ll have for the rest of his life. I\’m too scared to take these things. Yes, Greg. I too, trust in God to look after me, and I am not ashamed to "own" Him. I\’m nobody\’s fool. I have a brain, which we are all given. To not use it is to insult my Maker. Of course I use it. I hope I use it wisely, not just for my health, but in ALL situations.

  10. X-Evolutionist

    Jen said: "I\’ve also had to deal with religious bigotry in one form or another" There are a lot of people who call themselves "Christians" who do evil things. That should not be a refection on who God is, in my humble opinion.As far as medication. I know what you are talking about, Jen. I have had too many illnesses in my life, and the medication for all of them interfere and cause side effects with each other. My doctor and I have agreed to under-treat a couple of my illnesses because treating them would make me worse. I just have to suffer with the symptoms. But, I am all for medication and doctors, for that matter. Luke, who wrote the Gospel of Luke and the books of Acts, was a doctor. X

  11. Jen

    I am also on the side of Doctors who do their job they trained for. For instance, the guy who gave me my full diagnosis a few months back. Knowledge is power, and knowing what my real problems are, are far from being "all in my head". Now, I\’m made safe because I know how to take care of myself.20 years ago, or so, I had to go in for operations to save my sight. I had lot of good people praying for me at the time, and these dear souls saw me through my time in hospital with their prayers. Some of them have now passed on, but, those who remain have stayed constant, loving friends. In those days, our health system was something to shout about. My GP, back in those days, insisted I went to visit his surgery once per month so he could keep a check on me to see how I was managing being temporarily blind. I\’m so glad I had the problem all those years back. That kind of care just isn\’t available now. Not in my area, anyway. I was so saddened to find out, a few years later,that this dear, very loved Doctor had himself passd on. I wanted to stay with his surgery when I moved away. His reply was: "Look, if one of my patients was having a heart attack over here, and you were in trouble also, where you\’re going, who would I choose to visit first?" I completely understood him, but have missed his care ever since. There are more stories of other fantasic doctors over the years, so yes. I do believe in good doctors.

  12. Fernando

    X, if my comments in that post offended you, I sincerely apologize.

  13. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: I\’m happy that things seem to be looking up for you. I never had a "family" doctor until 13 years ago when we moved to this state. Before then, I was in the first Health Maintenance Organization, HMO. I could never see the same doctor twice in a row, it was just the luck of the draw. When I quit my job and moved here, I was out of that HMOs range, and did not get more insurance. Now, I have a family doctor. She knows me and my hubby, and she cares about us. Since we always see the same doctor, she knows our medical history by heart. She is a wonderful doctor. X

  14. X-Evolutionist

    Hi Fernando: I appreciate the apology, but I was not offended. I was just using your comment as an example of how people like to criticize my faith. Thank you very much. That was kind of you to come here and apologize. X

  15. Jen

    I hope you manage to keep your good Doctor. They are still around! Mum also has a fantastic one who was a part of the strong team who helped bring her through her last illness.

  16. X-Evolutionist

    Jen: I\’m happy your Mum has a great doctor, too. My doctor always makes me feel like I\’m her only concern in the world. I never had that feeling from any doctor I ever had under many years with a HMO. X

  17. Jim

    Great way to spread the word and "To God be the glory" for it. Jim

  18. X-Evolutionist

    @Jim: Thank you for your kind comment! X

  19. Jen

    Amen, Jim. Hiya X. You all right? Not long home from another crackin\’ night @ Radio!

  20. Gerry

    What if someone doesn\’t believe in God, Jesus, Salvation, Heaven or Hell, and they\’re wrong?It\’s a lot safer to believe!

  21. X-Evolutionist

    Gerry: You mentioned "Hell". In my humble opinion, "Hell" as commonly believed and pictured is not Biblical. My hubby has been studying Hell in the Bible, and much of the time it is mistranslated from a word meaning "grave". My God did not create people knowing they were going to suffer for eternity. X

  22. Lorraine

    To X-Evolutionist : I am quite surprised that you do not believe in Hell. If there is no Hell, (or no Hell for humans, as you imply), then what reason was there for Jesus to die on the cross? To save us from what? Nothingness? There are SO MANY references to hell in the Bible, and references to PEOPLE being in HELL. What would be the reason for telling others about God/Jesus, if they just stop existing when they die? It just seems to me that a lot of people want to believe the "feel good" parts of the Bible, and discount the parts that make people uncomfortable. Romans 11:22 says, "Behold therefore the goodness and SEVERITY of God: on them which fell, severity; but toward thee, goodness, if thou continue in his goodness: otherwise thou also shalt be cut off." God is good & righteous & holy, and unless one is wearing the righteousness found only in Jesus when death occurs, He will cast that person into Hell, where there is weeping & gnashing of teeth. I certainly do not delight in this fact, but it is Biblical & true.

  23. X-Evolutionist

    @Lorraine: Hi. Sorry I took so long to answer. I did not have enough room here to answer your question. Please see this blog post I wrote specifically to answer you. Xhttp://x-evolutionist.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!25A0033DD834DD1D!14290.entry

  24. Greg

    @ Gerry – I\’ve always thought that believing in something just to cover your bases was a kind of a milktoast foundation upon which to base an entire worldview. In my opinion, either you believe in your heart or you really don\’t.

  25. Fernando

    @ Gerry : Pascal Wager, pretty bad argument…

  26. Mandy

    It seems to me that you\’re picking the the good but forgetting about the bad, there is heaven to reward us but no hell to punish us, we have to thank god for the good he does but he\’s not blame for the bad. If there is god he either has nothing more to do with us or he is responsible for all – good or bad!And if your wrong and there is no god, well, that is a win, win situation X.

  27. crestind

    In the past I would not be convinced that you were correct, and would not think any less of you. In fact I consider you a better person than one without religion, as it implies a certain level of dedication and higher moral standards. These days I am trying my hardest to believe and find faith. Faith is better than nothing. It gives you more purpose in life, and it is a good thing.

  28. Curtis

    I once pondered on this subject tears many time streamed, When I had a college professor say I am narrow minded the way I believe. The devil has a convincing argument True! He wants us to think there is no God so we dont believe in Hell.Its a heart Issue! After comming near death with my bout with Phemonia in 1993 I almost died. No I didn\’t die and come back I would of stayed, Its Heaven! I believe and even if you dont believe thats okay, I wont think anything bad of you! I know many people offline an on who believe in differnt ways. I believe and my heart believes that I have a home in heaven if thats not ttue then atleast I believed in something.

  29. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: I\’m happy to read the great responses that this post recieved. There are, of course, many beliefs and opinions on this topic. X

  30. X-Evolutionist

    @Johanne: Thank you for coming to visit. I visited your website. There is too much to see all at once. I\’ll have to come visit again, soon. X

  31. DAN

    Thank you for your response. I just read it for the 1st time today, b/c it went on my husband\’s email instead of mine for some reason. I guess we will have to agree to disagree on this subject. There are just too many verses & references in the Bible about the horrors of people burning in hell to make me believe that all of them were somehow mis-translated. What about the story of the rich man & Lazarus? This is from Luke 16:23 & 24-And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom. 24 And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame. This was not said to be a parable in the Bible, but to be taken literally. I would recommend reading a book called "23 Minutes in Hell." Again, I certainly do not delight in the thought of an eternal hell, but the Bible makes it clear that there is one.

  32. DAN

    The previous post was actually from my wife Lorraine. She tried to post it from her account and it wouldn\’t go through for some reason. Thanks!

  33. X-Evolutionist

    @Dan: I appreciate you relaying the message along. Thank you. X

  34. X-Evolutionist

    @Lorraine: Thank you for writing back. As you say, we will have to agree to disagree. My hubby and I just looked up Luke 16:23 & 24. First off, the Greek word "hades" meaning "grave" is mistranslated "hell" in this passage. Second off, it is a parable. X

  35. X-Evolutionist

    @Lorraine: PS: About your book recommendation, 23 Minutes in Hell: First off, I prefer to believe the Bible. Second off, if hell is as bad as people say, somebody who spent 23 minutes there would be scarred for life and unable to write a book about it. But, as we are agreeing to disagree, this is just my opinion. X

  36. DAN

    Hello "X", you\’re welcome, glad to pass it along. 🙂 This IS actually Lorraine\’s husband Dan this time. For some reason on my MSN hotmail network, I can see the headings to certain activity done by some in my network and saw this. Who knows how all that stuff works? Anyhow…I personally would agree with you that much of what, for instance, the KJV has translated as a certain word is not always the "best fit" for what was litterally intended in the original languages. And yes, that may even be true where CERTAIN references to hell are concerned. However, I do have to agree with my wife Lorraine that I feel there is just too much mentioned to say it all does not come through as intended. And I believe a further, objective study would reveal that. You have already mentioned that your husband undertook his study for the reason that he did not like the thought of your grandmother being in eternal suffering- CERTAINLY UNDERSTANDABLE. However, I set out from the realization that it would also apply to many of my relatives who have also died without Christ and I also don\’t sit comfortably with ANYONE suffering that way. However, best I can, I have to set aside what I WANT to believe to see what truths I can discover through unbiased, objective study. That book, "23 Minutes in Hell" (sadly, the authors\’ name escapes me at the moment), gives an incredible amount of Biblical references to hell and yes,…you are exactly right, should God not have taken away the horror of what that man experienced, he likely would have been institutionalized. However, he firmly believes that God let him experience just enough of the horrors of hell to make him steadfast in his mission to warn others about it. Even if that\’s not what you WANT to believe, I would recommend you and your husband read it and just see what you think concerning it. You might, at bare minimum, find it an interesting read. Now, I will clarify, that although I do believe in an eternal hell where those who are not "in Christ" will go,…Still, I would be the first to admit that I also believe in degrees of punishment in hell. By degrees I\’m not meaning literal temperature readings (degrees) although I guess that could apply, but more in the overal sense of the severity of the punishment upon someone. For example, if there was a kind-hearted housewife who spent all her life taking care of her husband and children but never accepted Christ. Then, eventually she got sick and died of cancer. I don\’t believe at all that she will suffer in eternity nearly as intensely as say Adolf Hitler, Judas Iscariot or someone similar.I know all this isn\’t a pleasant subject matter and like my wife, Lorraine, it CERTAINLY is not something I delight in. However, I believe BECAUSE of the seriousness of it, people need to be warned if we truly care about them. I like how you and your husband want to get back to the original languages while studying the Bible to see what it TRULY is saying. I would recommend then, that you look up men like John MacArthur, Erwin Lutzer, and D. James Kennedy (men who hold fast to that kind of study) and see what they have to say regarding the subject matter of hell.Anyhow, sorry to get so "long-winded" but just my "two cents worth". Thanks!Dan

  37. DAN

    Hello again "X",I just looked up John MacArthur on YouTube to see if he addressed this suject matter and found this–http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRNudOPFc1c Give it a listen if you don\’t mind. He is VERY careful in how he preaches and in how he determines what the original languages were saying. Thanks!Dan

  38. DAN

    This is just a random sermon of his that I found online tonight. However, as I listen and post these links, I\’m hearing that he is not really trying to systematically PROVE there\’s a hell here. Nonetheless, I still feel it can be a helpful message to all of us. You can at least appreciate his style of verse by verse preaching where in many of his sermons he frequently refers to the Bible\’s original languages. Maybe his ministry would be interesting and beneficial to you as it has been for me. Take care!

  39. DAN

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9E6NBaMDhcw Okay, this last part, 4 of 4, I think finally addresses some of what may interest you.

  40. X-Evolutionist

    Dan and Lorraine: I find it quite interesting that you are going to so much effort to convince me that my God creates people knowing that they will not believe in him and will suffer for eternity in hell. Is that really who you think your God is? It seems to me that you instead would want to look more into the reasons my hubby found that say that hell is a tradition by man and is not supported by the Bible. Why not let me linger in my ignorance and be happy? Hmm. X

  41. Greg

    X, maybe you should invite Lorraine to your Stump the Creationist group. Sounds like there might be some interesting discussion potential there. Grab your brimstone. Let the Battle Royale of the zealots begin! Let\’s get ready to RUMBLE! Sorry, I got carried away…That\’s the funny thing about faith, isn\’t it? It\’s an extremely personal thing. Trying to convince each another about who has the truthier truth is a fool\’s errand. If I say I see no evidence of a God or afterlife at all, how is that opinion any less likely than whether or not there\’s a hell? It\’s all personal opinion, and so what if you or I am wrong? Why is it so important to have others agree with you about something that\’s inherently personal? Call me a cynic, but I think those people who work really hard to sell others on their religious viewpoints are really just trying to convince themselves.

  42. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: I appreciate the fact that you find the topic of hell interesting and worthy of discussion. The thing is, the people who participated in Stump the Creationist were you and me for the most part. That group died when you left. Coffee Talk Group has more activity. I sent an invitation to all Stump the Creationist members to join Coffee Talk hoping there would be more activity. Here\’s a partial quote of something else you said: "Call me a cynic, but I think those people who work really hard to sell others on their religious viewpoints are really just trying to convince themselves." You are absolutely right. I agree. Some people are insecure in their beliefs if they can\’t convince somebody else to agree with them. Personally, I just say what I believe and mostly leave it at that, unless I keep getting asked questions. Rather than debate, I\’ve just put my beliefs in my website. If somebody wants to know why I believe what I believe, they can take a look. If not, fine. I\’m not going to stand on a street corner all day trying to get people to agree with me. I know my beliefs are in the minority, and that is alright with me because I feel they have justification. X

  43. DAN

    That\’s fine "X" but at least I\’ve only tried to express what I have to say in a friendly manner. Obviously the subject matter is an intense one but I haven\’t resorted to sarcasm as you have. Some things we can\’t control—examples: that no matter how much you may hate the weekend to end, Monday is still coming; taxes are still due on April 15th, etc. I feel that it\’s better to KNOW what the terms are in life, death and eternity so I can be prepared. Still I will leave you to your own thoughts regarding that.

  44. DAN

    I recommend us to stop thinking of a "humanity-centered everything" and think about it as being God centered. We have drifted generationally into thinking we have all these innate rights. God may be a bit more "severe" than we have previously thought but that is something WE need to adjust to. The GLORY OF GOD is man\’s chief purpose for existence not our personal happiness. We can be happy and greatly fulfilled though when He is glorified by our lives. He is glorified not only in His salvation of many but also in His righteous judgments.

Leave a Reply

