The “Freeway Off-ramp Rule” and other thoughts on marriage….

I discovered the “Freeway Off-ramp Rule” long ago. I have since found out that it applies to much of the communication in marriage. My hubby and I have a great relationship, so I don’t mind teasing him, after all in a minute you’ll see he deserves it….

Anyway, here’s the  “Freeway Off-ramp Rule”:

Let’s say a man and wife are going someplace. The freeway off-ramp is coming up soon, the hubby is in the wrong lane, and there’s not much time to change lanes:

Option one:

Wife says: “Sweetie, the off-ramp is coming up, better change lanes”.

Hubby says: “I know, I know! Don’t nag.” and then changes lanes.

Option two:

Wife says nothing because she has been told not to nag in that situation before.

Hubby misses off-ramp, and says: “Why didn’t you tell me the off-ramp was coming up!”

As you can see, the loving wife is always wrong.

 

This “Rule” has many forms and variations:

Hubby tells wife: “Don’t let me forget to clean the air filter once in a while.”

OK, you guessed it, when wife reminds hubby, she is told to quit nagging.

As you can see, being a loving wife is very hard work, and it is an underpaid position.

X

Sign up for alerts   All Things Live Group 

      Hey, X! Why do you believe in God?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “The “Freeway Off-ramp Rule” and other thoughts on marriage….

  1. Jen

    Bwahahahahahaha! Know it well, X.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, Thanks for the support. I didn\’t think I was the only one in this boat. X

  3. Mandy

    LOL I\’ve always found the "second time rule" the one that got me. Ask them to do something – yeah ok they\’ll do it later, remind them, when they don\’t – and your nagging

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Mandy, You are so right! I posted this blog because I\’m going to start a "Honey Do List". It will be my hubby\’s job to keep track of the things he wants to get done. I\’m not allowed to nag, I mean remind him. I wrote about the list on my Office Live post. X

  5. Mandy

    LOL – It sounds like a brilliant idea! Wish I\’d had one of those!! Although I\’m not sure it would have worked with my ex!

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Yeah, I know what you mean. Sometimes nothing will help. X

  7. Jeannie

    My husband solved it: He has a GPS that he named "Maggie". She very calmly keeps reminding him….that is unless he turns her off. Ha! Sometimes when he knows where he wants to go but changes his mind, Maggie keeps on giving him the first set of directions. No reasoning with that woman!

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Jeannie, If my hubby had a GPS, it would have to have a man\’s voice. He ignores everything (especially somebody telling him what to do) said in a woman\’s voice…… X

  9. ♨ gRaNt

    My wife always gets lost so I purchased her a GPS for her car, she ignores everything that the GPS says and end up lost still. hahaha

  10. X-Evolutionist

    Grant, That\’s too funny. On the other end of the scale, I saw on a tv news magazine recently where a guy followed the gps instructions to the letter and got stuck in a ditch. X

  11. Greg

    Funny sidebar, I had a voice-based GPS in a rental car during a business trip, and I couldn\’t resist replying to its directions.GPS: Turn right on Embarcadero. Me: OK, thanks. It was just force of habit, but it seemed like the courteous thing to do. Anyway, my travel partner got a kick out of it and gave me a hard time for weeks afterward.

  12. Gerry

    Hi X, I\’m going to show this to my wife. At least she can see that she\’s not the only one who has gone through this.

  13. X-Evolutionist

    Greg, Typical man: Treats a total stranger with more respect than a wife (that is unless you say "OK thanks" each time your wife tells you to do something. (doubtful…) X tee hee

  14. X-Evolutionist

    Gerry, you are a good sport. At least you admit that you do this. Tell your wife that I totally understand, and she can cry on my shoulder. When I kid my hubby about it, he says it\’s because "I have the ________" (something women don\’t have) Then I say, "That can easily be changed"…… X

  15. X-Evolutionist

    Marriage bump…

  16. Dare

    This reminds me of conversations between my wife and I. 🙂

  17. X-Evolutionist

    @Dare: You are a brave man to admit this. Yes, it is a fairly universal rule of marriage… X

Leave a Reply

