Microsoft Office Live Workspace: It’s not just for the office!

I was surfing though the Windows Live world yesterday, and I came across a link to Microsoft Office Live Workspace. I have heard of it before, but since I can no longer work, I didn’t feel I had any need to check into it.

Well, just for kicks, I clicked on the link and made a workspace in my Windows Live user name. By golly, was I surprised! There is a bunch of cool stuff in there! It is not just for the office. You have the option of making several different work spaces, depending upon your needs: sports, school, meeting, travel, job search, etc. The one that struck me was “Household Workspace”. So, I now have a Household Workspace, and I comes with these pages automatically:

  • Announcement Board
  • Emergency Contact List
  • Household To-do List
  • Grocery List
  • Household Event List

You can export these pages to the appropriate Microsoft Office program, (Excel, Word, etc) and start adding the appropriate information for your family. When you are finished, you save the program back to the Microsoft Office Live Workspace. Or, you might have similar files already for your family, or totally different files you use to keep your family organized. (If you do not have Microsoft Office, the files are editable right on the Workspace.)

The wonderful thing is that once you have revised your files, or added new files, you can “Share your workspace”. You enter your family members email addresses, and say whether they can also revise the page, or just view it. The invitations are sent out, and everybody you invite can see the documents.

The first thing I did was rename the “Household To-do List” to “Honey Do List” for “Honey, do this”, and “Honey, do that”. This is a list of tasks my hubby knows need to be done, but needs to be reminded (or nagged, as he calls it). He asks me to remind him, then tells me I’m nagging when I do. (Husbands!) But, if there is a LIST of things to do, he will do them as he sees fit, and I’m not “nagging”, so we are both happy.

So, yesterday, I put the “Honey Do List” on my Microsoft Office Live Workspace, and added my hubby as an editor. He can look at the list at work, if he is in the mood to do a necessary task after work.

Taking the good idea of the “Emergency Contact List” we will be adding all of our information to this list. Then, we can access it everywhere. Our Workspace is available in our Windows Live Toolbar (part of the Windows Live Essentials package) at work (my hubby) or home, plus at Office.Live.com anywhere else we go.

If you would like to get a Microsoft Office Live Workspace for your office, sports team, family, or any other reason, follow the steps below (pasted from Microsoft Office Live Workspace for your convenience) The videos give instructions for how to do each step :

X


Getting started with Office Live Workspace

Use the Documents workspace to store your individual documents. To be more efficient, create workspaces for each project. Follow these easy steps:

Create

STEP 1:
Create separate workspaces for each of your projects.

Add

STEP 2:
Add documents you want to store and share.

Share

STEP 3:
Share your workspace so friends and colleagues can view or edit its contents.


  

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

42 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

42 responses to “Microsoft Office Live Workspace: It’s not just for the office!

  1. Jen

    Gonna look into this, X. I have had the link for just ages, but have never really had the time to fix up a proper workspace yet. Why don\’t I just get on with it now:-)Household, aye? Right. That does it!

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, my hubby and I are looking at the Honey Do list right now. He\’s at work, and we are IMing. X

  3. Jen

    I\’ve just had a look at it. Most wouldn\’t work for me as I don\’t have Excel. Grrrump!

  4. Greg

    Right now, Office Live Workspace is just a place to share and collaborate on office documents. You still need to have the programs to edit them installed on your local computer. The likelihood is that with the advent of Office Web apps coming next year, OLW will be merged in with the rest of Windows Live. The lists are pretty slick, and I really hope they find their way into WL, possibly as a replacement for the lists we currently use in Profile and Spaces. See more at http://bit.ly/19rTJ.

  5. X-Evolutionist

    Greg and Jen, I posted that you can edit the sample documents online. I played with it a bit. For example, the grocery list. You can edit it online, it\’s just not as fancy as Excel. It might still a good idea for some people. A group of people don\’t have to all have the same software, they can edit it online. X

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Greg, I read that link, it sounds great. Begin Rant: Regarding lists, I STILL think it\’s dumb that we can\’t show the same things on Live Home and our Space. TWO lists of music? Why? This is the computer age. Windows Live, of all places, should be able to handle that. End rant. X

  7. Jen

    Well, guess what? While I was on there, a header message said that MSFT are working on Workspaces to "add some new features" and "this work should be completed by about 16:45" (was it) Some time like that, tonight. I reckon they mean BST as I\’m in UK, but that\’s what I saw, so don\’t grumble yet – I\’ll do a screenshot of anything new I find, when I find it:-)

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, I just noticed it, too: Office Live Workspace is undergoing an upgrade to add new features. During the upgrade, you may not be able to access some areas or the site may perform slowly. The upgrade should be finished by 12:15 PM.

  9. Jen

    12:15 for you? Ah well, there we have it! We\’ll see what\’s there in a few hours.

  10. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, it is 11:46 AM, here. It will be 12:15PM in half an hour. But, they don\’t have a time zone. Live headquarters is two hours different from me. So who knows? X

  11. Ed

    I\’ve been using office live for a while now, but mostly the website you can get free if you run a small business. It\’s very good and most importantly free. The only thing you pay is for the domain, which in my case with a .co.uk domain, i pay nothing for 2 years.

  12. X-Evolutionist

    Ed, that\’s great your website is free for two years. I\’m still experimenting to see what the work spaces can do. But, it\’s been down a while. X

  13. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, Microsoft Office Live Workspace is back online now. X

  14. Jen

    Oh great! I\’ll go and see if there are any noticeable changes:-)

  15. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, I\’m in it right now, working on my "WorkSpace". I haven\’t noticed anything yet. Let me know if you do. X

  16. Jen

    I\’ve just been in and made a shopping list. It is excellent, isn\’t it, and so convenient. Rather than having to go out of Live and into Word, I can write the list into a ready-made table and, lovely of lovelies, you only have to have as many rows and columns as you need, and, can add them one by one.I love it, X.Didn\’t notice any changes from using it earlier. Did you?

  17. X-Evolutionist

    No, I didn\’t notice anything, either. Yes, I love this. It\’s great. I wish I had known about it earlier. I\’m still getting it all set up. You can also share your screen with somebody after you both installing the software. There\’s a lot of features I haven\’t found yet, probably. X

  18. Jen

    First one to write a blog gets the prize! (Of seeing it in screen print;-) I do apologise, X. It\’s only after my last scribble that I noticed you\’d already said you didn\’t notice any changes!

  19. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, I already wrote this blog, so I win. Tee hee. X

  20. Jen

    Ahhh – Nyaaa;-)

  21. ThisIsMyHomeRightHereWithYou

    Honey Do List i had to laugh at that one hehe… sometimes i am so happy i am single! Am going to take a look at this once have done a movie with the new movie maker, this sounds like it may help me in my design world.I do not bother with Microsoft Office products cannot for some unbeknown reason get them, even the student editions are not available to be, think maybe because i do not actually attent a Uni, …wonder if Excel is on a free software somewhere. I do not have that either.Going to take a look dispite the above.Thanks X

  22. X-Evolutionist

    @SweetSunnySide: Microsoft Office is a suite of office programs that I think is fairly expensive for most home computrer users. But, it is used by many, many companies. I bought the computer I used previously for my job, so I have a lot of keen software I wouldn\’t afford otherwise. X

Leave a Reply

