Windows Live Movie Maker is not supported on Windows XP.

Several days ago, the Windows Live Team posted this blog entry: The new Windows Live Movie Maker – available today! In the article, it talks about some new features. It also talks about one particular old feature: The fact that Windows Live Movie Maker is (still) not supported on Windows XP. Of course, it adds that there IS a product, Windows Movie Maker 2.1, available for XP users.

I’m sure there are some really technical reasons which I would not understand. But, in this case, the fact that one of the programs in the Windows Live Essentials suite of programs is not available to me, an XP user, seems odd.

I spoke about this same topic back in February when I first tried to download Windows Live Movie Maker: Here. Now, it is clearly marked on the Windows Live Movie Maker download page:

*Note: Windows Live Movie Maker is not available for Windows XP or earlier versions of Windows.

Back, in February I found out that it was not available for XP by downloading it, and trying to find it on my computer. The disclaimer on the Windows Live Movie Maker download page will make less people confused this time, so that’s good.

X

Edited to add Aug. 25. 2009: I wrote this post yesterday. Marcus has just posted a Clubhouse Challenge to write a Clubhouse post about Windows Live Movie Maker. I have added the Challenge-Movie tag below. Per Marcus’s suggestion to add challenge tags to previous posts about Movie Maker, this rant has now become my entry into the Challenge.

     

Bookmark and Share

13 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

13 responses to “Windows Live Movie Maker is not supported on Windows XP.

  1. Aleciel

    Please fight for it. I find it to be poor service that Microsoft would fail support customers with new products just because we use Windows XP. I feel I shouldn\’t have to buy their new OS in order to still be supported.Thanks

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Aleciel, I agree with you! X

  3. Navin

    Aleciel,No offense, but how long do you expect microsoft to support XP? It has been around for 7 years now and succeded by 2 newer operating systems.

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Hi Navin: The thing is, all the other programs on this page:http://download.live.com/can run just fine on XP. Our question is why only this program is not supported.X

Leave a Reply

