What is Beauty?

I was just at my YouTube page, and I noticed a video in my favorites I had forgotten all abut. Take a look at this (It’s one minute and 15 seconds long):

“No wonder our perception of beauty is distorted”…

I decided a very long time ago, that I wanted a man to like me for who I was, and not what color I painted my hair and face. I have gone through my entire adult life with my God given, factory issued, hair, face and body. I figured, I wanted to attract a man without false advertising.

I wanted a man who would love me for who I am on the inside, rather than what I could change my outside to look like. I didn’t want a husband to wake up with my real self and go screaming down the street. I wanted a man who felt, like me, that how a person looks is irrelevant to their quality as a person.

So here I am. I am a woman over fifty. I have a lot of streaks of gray hair, and I have creases around my eyes and mouth. And I have a hubby who I knows loves me just for who I am.

I am an ordinary looking girl. Nobody is going to turn their head to look at me after I walk by. But, I am confident that the man I love chose to marry me based upon the real things that matter, the person I am on the inside, not outside.

By the same token, my hubby is secure in the feeling that my love for him has not decreased as the number of hairs on his head have decreased. In fact, my love for him has grown since our marriage as much as his tummy has grown since our marriage. (tee hee. Are you reading this sweetie?)

Jesting aside, the things we love about each other will never change, just the packaging, and that doesn’t matter to us. (Although we do tease each other harmlessly.)

My hubby calls me his “Beautiful Bride”. Thank you, God, for giving me just the right man I wanted.

(I don’t know what “Category” to place this blog in. I decided to put it in “My Faith”, since it was God who gave me my wonderful hubby)

X

   Sign up for alerts   All Things Live Group 

      Hey, X! Why do you believe in God?

16 Comments

Filed under My Faith

16 responses to “What is Beauty?

  1. Mandy

    Aaah that\’s nice X! i mean what you said about Mr Grumpy hehe! And I have to agree with rest too, beauty, after all is in the eye of the beholder – my mum used to say, but I think she may have nicked from Rabby Burns – O would some power the giftie gie us to see ourselves as others see us.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Hi Mandy. I love the line you quoted! Thanks for the comments! X

  3. Jen

    That film made me laugh. So, she went through all of that and still, it wasn\’t good enough.Cue Photoshop. If the woman saw that advert – what an insult to her. Okay, I admit to liking a little lipstick, eyeshadow and perfume to go out with on Saturdays, but never bother at home. When at home, people get what they\’re given!Tough, aye? Good blog, X, and I\’m glad you\’re happy.

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Jen. Good point. I never thought about how insulting it would be for the poor model. This video was made to make a point. Some women feel so insecure because they don\’t live up to some artificial standard of beauty.

  5. Jen

    Thank goodness I don\’t have to worry about it. My beauty isn\’t artificial – it\’s non-existent;-) Like I say – people have to put up with what they get.

  6. Cynical

    In this context, there may be an advantage to being an isolative old coot.Peace, Doc

  7. Diana

    I like the comment about not wanting the man to wake up to ‘my real self and go screaming down the street’. That’s why I don’t do one night stands. :)Another point to note is that the more comfortable you are with your appearance, the more confident you feel & act which makes you even more attractive. A couple of months ago, I had a photography shoot overseas (pics are posted on my profile), I found the whole thing to be a fun experience (the poses & costumes were hilarious) but also hard work. I felt like a fake and I acted really awkward the whole time I was made up but at then end when everything was taken off, I was back to my boring self but a lot brighter. 🙂

  8. Valerie

    Hi X-evolutionist, Diana and to all !I like a lot what is written… It\’s important, even for oneself, to keep as long as possible his true appearance… for not to lose itself… in artificial… Certain persons are incapable go out without make-up… as much women that of the men… I have myself met difficulties go out without make-up for several years, because for my work, I put on make-up everyday and a lot… oups… I worked for several years in the big perfumery (Nina Ricci, Rochas, Givenchy, …), I counselled and make up persons… I sold enough well all the products while explaining that the make-up, the transformations… are only an exaggerated form of our natural beauty… and that if we are well naturally then we will be superb with make up… But that it wasn\’t necessary to look for in the make-up to hide defects… Why? … Because if we look for in the make-up, the hairstyle, the transformations… to hide defects, then our look and our gestural one will betray us… For proof… on the podiums of High Sewing, there always are models that expresses a discomfort, that does to the final one that the clothing isn\’t looked at to 100%, the attention carrying itself then equally on the model… Have a Great Day everyone, Bye-Bye and see you !!!…

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody, I\’m glad that this post recieved so many well thought out responses! Apparently this is a moderately big issue. For me, not wearing make up and dolling up my hair makes life easy, well, easiER.. I\’m always ready to go out on a moment\’s notice, which my hubby likes. Whereas my mother in law won\’t even go out and get the newspaper off the driveway before she "put\’s her face on" and "does her hair". Maybe putting on making and dolling up your hair is like drugs: Once you start, you can\’t stop…..I\’m being facetious, don\’t go all shocked on me…… I have nothing against people who like to do special things to look nice.X

  10. Jen

    Nothing shocking, X! We are each capable of making our own decisions. You do what you will. It\’s your right.

  11. Cassie

    As I recall, Beauty was a horse in a book by British Author Anna Sewell

  12. Mandy

    The thing is, this girl is already beautiful, she has minor flaws, but that makes her human/normal, what they do is stereotype her to a level of beauty that no one can attain, it isn\’t real, with or with a normal amount of makeup!

  13. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody, Reading these comments again reminded me of something. When I was in high school, there was a mall that had a place that did beauty make overs. They always had before and after pictures. The before picture was a perfectly normal looking girl. The after picture, in my mind, took away her individuality. If she had freckles, for instance, they were gone. That picture was something that helped set my frame of mind the way it is now. The girl that had freckles looked like a fresh faced farm girl, a really nice face. Then, they glamored her up, and she looked like every other "pretty" person. I always thought the "before" picture was nicer looking than the faked out "after" picture. X

  14. Gerry

    Hi X,I never could figure out why women wanted to put all that goop on their faces. Personally I don\’t like it and I don\’t want my baby girl to have to do that when she gets older. Although my wife let her put some fingernail polish on herself already because she wanted it.

  15. X-Evolutionist

    Gerry, when I read your post, some how it jogged a long lost memory. When I was a kid I lived next door to a pastor of some church wear makeup was not allowed on women… BUT! Their poodle had bright red fingernails!! I found, and still find, that hilarious! X

  16. X-Evolutionist

    In my last comment, I mentioned church. I just thought I would post this disclaimer: I have some strange things about me, but none of them are related in any way to my faith. I don\’t eat animals, don\’t wear makeup, don\’t drink, smoke or do drugs, and all of those decisions happened a long time before I finally met Jesus in my forties. Just thought I\’d mention it for no apparent reason. X

Leave a Reply

