Post a favorite line from a favorite song.

First off, I want to address the subject of off-topic comments to blogs. There is currently a running discussion about this in Live Soapbox Group called:

“Have you all noticed how Comments have become ‘chat boards?”

(TG, you don’t mind a plug, do you?) So, I want to publically state my preference:

Off Topic Conversations Allowed Here!

Conversations have a life of their own. In my humble opinion, conversations that take off on a tangent are the most fun. I feel honored if people come to my space, take their shoes off, and shoot the breeze. A conversation is like a box of chocolates, and I like surprises! I like not knowing what I’m going to get in my comments. I feel especially honored when I wake up to find out that friends were hanging out in my Space after I left! I’m happy that my friends feel comfortable enough to make themselves at home.

Now that this has been said, here is a topic, and I expect you to stick to it! Har har har….

This morning, I happened to be thinking of the philosophy of the Rolling Stones:

“You can’t always get what you want; but  if you try sometime, you might find, you get what you need”

That line is short, but powerful, and I have loved it since I first heard that song in junior high school.

I’m curious to hear what lines of songs you like, I would especially like to hear your favorite philosophical lines, but that is not mandatory.

This morning, while my internet was down, I caught myself thinking:

“Don’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone, you take paradise, put up a parking lot”

from a song sung by Joni Mitchell. I really appreciated how much I enjoy being in my home community, Windows Live.

So, come on in, relax, take your shoes off.

X

 Find out when I post a blogSign up for alerts
Stump the Creationist Group 
My Site  All Things Live Group

36 Comments

Filed under Spaces stuff

36 responses to “Post a favorite line from a favorite song.

  1. Mandy

    It depends on my mood so I\’ll have to ponder this! Out tonight so hopefully have thought about it by tomorrow!

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy: Tomorrow is good, except I will probably having a film festival with my hubby in the living room tomorrow.

  3. Jen

    X said: "I feel especially honored when I wake up to find out that friends were hanging out in my Space after I left! I’m happy that my friends feel comfortable enough to make themselves at home."Thank you very much, X. That\’s exactly what I said in another blog of someone else\’s. As for the song, well: "Always look on the bright side of life" is a great line.

  4. Greg

    Got one of my favorites on my own blog: http://gregsedwards.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!19760888BE8FCA70!400.entry (tip: right-click and open in a new tab/window).

  5. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: Yes! That\’s a great line.

  6. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: Great lyrics! Thanks for sharing! As for your hint: I click the middle mouse button while I\’m over the link, and it opens in a new tab. One less mouse click. Neener 😉

  7. Greg

    Aye, good point. I couldn\’t remember if that worked in IE7 and earlier (I\’m in IE8RC1), and I didn\’t want to disenfranchise folks without a middle button.

  8. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg: Most mice these days have a middle button, don\’t they? You just have to program what it does in the control panel. My wheel button is set to "Middle Click". I still have IE7. As I said in ATL, IE8 messed up my "Links" folder that has every site I use. It took it over and then deemed all my links bad. It had too much power, so I removed it to show it who\’s in charge here.

  9. Jen

    Nicked from Greg: (tip: right-click and open in a new tab/window).Psst: I usually do! I love tabbed browsing!Thanks, X! Hubby and I were discussing that very song earlier today.

  10. Jen

    Wow Greg. Never saw that blog \’til now.

  11. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: Small world, huh?

  12. Jen

    Yes, X. By the way, this has prompted me to go and write up my tracklist for tomorrow. See ya! Wish all here and everywhere else a smashing weekend. You know what I\’ll be doing;-) Take care.

  13. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen: Have a nice weekend! It was nice hanging out with you.

  14. Mandy

    Got five mins so here\’s one of mine …… Cold Play, sorry more than one line but you have to hear it all!When you try your best, but you don\’t succeedWhen you get what you want, but not what you needWhen you feel so tired, but you can\’t sleepStuck in reverseAnd the tears come streaming down your faceWhen you lose something you can\’t replaceWhen you love someone but it goes to wasteCould it be worse? Lights will guide you home, And ignite your bones, And I will try to fix you,

  15. Mandy

    Oops It\’s called "Fix You" ….that\’s what you get for hurrying!

  16. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy: Thanks! Great lyrics!

  17. Ray

    I really must get some new socks, I like those lyrics too!

  18. Robin

    I am like Mandy, It depend\’s on my mood. Here are some line\’s from one of my favorite sad song\’s.Evanesence- My ImmortalYou cried I\’d wipe away all of your tear\’s.You scream I fight away all of your fear\’s.I held your hand for all of these year\’s.You still don\’t have all of me….

  19. X-Evolutionist

    @Ray. Hi!

  20. X-Evolutionist

    @Robin: Thanks for sharing that. I could list a bizillion Christian songs that have great lyrics, too. Do you know Rich Mullins? I love his stuff.

  21. Robin

    I had to google Rich Mullins, very good stuff, did you know he died, so sad. Actually Evanesence is not really a Christian band I don\’t think so anyway. I do have some lyrics from Barlow Girl a new Christian song.Never AloneI have this one on my space.I cried out with no reply and I cant\’ feel you by my side.So I hold tight to what I know your here and I\’m never alone.We can not seperate,cause your part of me and though your invisible,I\’ll trust the unseen.

  22. X-Evolutionist

    @Robin: Rich Mullins went to heaven the year after I got saved. He left a lot of great music. Rich Mullins wrote "Our God is an Awesome God". Perhaps you\’ve heard of that one:When He rolls up His sleevesHe ain\’t just puttin\’ on the ritz(our God is an awesome God)There is thunder in His footstepsAnd lightning in His fist(our God is an awesome God)Well, the Lord wasn\’t jokingWhen He kicked \’em out of EdenIt wasn\’t for no reason that He shed his bloodHis return is very close and so you better be believingthat our God is an awesome GodREFRAINOur God(our God) is an awesome GodHe reigns(He reigns) from heaven aboveWith wisdom(with wisdom) pow\’r and loveour God is an awesome GodAnd when the sky was starless in the void of the night (our God is an awesome God)He spoke into the darkness and created the light(our God is an awesome God)Judgment and wrath he poured out on SodomMercy and grace He gave us at the crossI hope that we have not too quickly forgotten thatour God is an awesome God

  23. Robin

    Yes that is a good song, I knew a lot of his song\’s, I was suprised because I did not recognize his name. I have a lot of song\’s in my head and I don\’t always know who sing\’s or wrote them I guess. I was sad to hear he died, he seemed kind of young.

  24. X-Evolutionist

    @Robin. That\’s me. I usually don\’t remember who does songs that I like. But, Rich Mullins did such great songs, he stuck out in my memory. He left a great legacy of music behind him. He has a song about Going out like Elija. He died in a car crash, so that\’s about as close as you can get:"Elija" Chorus:But when I leave I want to go out like Elijah With a whirlwind to fuel my chariot of fire And when I look back on the stars Well, It\’ll be like a candlelight in Central Park And it won\’t break my heart to say goodbye

  25. Cynical

    "Complain about the present and blame it on the past. I\’d like to find your inner child and kick it;s little ass. Get over it. " ~ Eagles. I\’ve worked with a number of clients to which this line would certainly apply.Peace, Doc

  26. X-Evolutionist

    @Doc: Now THAT\’s good advice!

  27. Happy

    Oh there are so many, Reach out and touch, somebody\’s hand/Make this world a better place/if you can. Diana Ross

Leave a Reply

