The Wilhelm Scream – Great Moments in American Film History, and on “Lost” last night!

I was watching Lost last night, minding my own business, dum de dum de dum, and all of a sudden I heard a Wilhelm Scream! I confirmed it by asking  others about it on the Internet Movie Database Lost message board. Sorry, but I can’t tell you where it is in the show, because if I do, it will be a big spoiler for people in other countries who have not seen that far yet. (Send me a PM, and I’ll tell you) We have a Windows Live Group for fans of the show Lost. It is called: Lost Fans. Check it out!

The those not fortunate enough to know what the heck I am talking about, then this is your lucky day! Check out the Wilhelm Screen Wiki Page for the written history, and this page to hear the Wilhelm Scream all by itself.

Below you will find a cinematic history of the use of the Wilhelm Scream in some movies of the past. Now that you will know what it is, you, like me, will be ever vigilante in listening for it. It adds a little more fun to your movie watching pleasure: Enjoy:

 

Edited to add: While I’m on the subject, I have some sound effect pet peeves I’d like to rant about:

My pet peeve sound effect is "leather". People who do "leather" sound effects for saddles, jackets, purses, couches, are VERY proud of their work. For some reason, leather sound effects always seem way too loud for what’s happening in the scene.

My other sound effect pet peeve is the "red tailed hawk". They use that for crows, ravens, buzzards, falcons, etc. Watch, the next time you see a scene with a mountain, some sky, some trees, and especially a valley, listen for the call of that "red tailed hawk" and notice what kind of bird they show it coming out of. As a long time bird watcher, this bugs me….

Here is a real red tailed hawk doing a red tailed hawk call. I just played it, and my birds had fits! (in my humble opinion, I believe that God programmed birds with that sound so they would know to be afraid of predators. My turtle is afraid of shadows coming across him for the same reason, and he closes up his shell!)

X

 

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

54 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

54 responses to “The Wilhelm Scream – Great Moments in American Film History, and on “Lost” last night!

  1. Mandy

    Well I never! you learn something new every day on here, I\’ve never heard of that before, but recognise it now, I will be listening for it now in Lost!Thanks for the "NOT SPOILER" X!

  2. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy, You\’re welcome for the "Not Spoiler"! I\’ve only heard it this one time in Lost.

  3. H

    Hiya .. i love Lost and will watch out for it .. take care, love H

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @H, Hi! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Jasper

    Interesting, will be keeping an eye out. Opps an ear open for the scream. A friend has a thing about a squeaking door sound effect. That is in a number of programs!

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Jasper: My pet sound effect is "leather". People who do "leather" sound effects for saddles, jackets, purses, couches, are VERY proud of their work. For some reason, leather sound effects always seem way to loud for what\’s happening in the scene.My other sound effect pet peeve is the "red tailed hawk". They use that for crows, ravens, buzzards, falcons. Watch, the next time you see a scene with a mountain, some sky, some trees, and esspecially a valley, listen for the call of that "red tailed hawk" and notice what kind of bird they show it coming out of. Bugs me….

  7. Greg

    @ H – noticed that you said you enjoy Lost. Please join us at http://lostfans.groups.live.com for great discussions about this interesting show. Everyone is welcome.

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Red tailed hawk. I just googled it, and found a clip. It\’s not the exact sound effect, but it is still a red tailed hawk, so you can get an idea of what I am talking about. God must have programmed my birds to be afraid of them; they all got scared and flapped their wings when I played it!http://www.freesound.org/samplesViewSingle.php?id=54354

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Everybody: I added more to my post. I\’m ranting about sound effects used in movies. I have a couple of pet peeves…

  10. Mandy

    Also, leather sofa\’s, at some point, always make farting sound, you NEVER hear that in a film!

  11. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy. Very insightful observation!

  12. Jen

    Actually, for the movies depicted, it\’s really not a very good scream!

  13. Mandy

    I\’d love to put one of those embarrassed smileys here now, X!

  14. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen. That\’s the beauty of it. It\’s like an inside joke. It\’s just a little extra cookie for film fans. It\’s not supposed to be a good scream.

  15. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy: Hey, you were telling the truth! I just was picking on you. 🙂

  16. Mandy

    LOL I know X, I was just joshing with you, I wasn\’t offended, in fact I laughed!

  17. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy: Goody! Hey, it\’s just a part of God\’s original design of the internal combusion engine. You gotta have exhaust fumes…..

  18. Mandy

    LOL……….. exhaust fumes? yeah I like that!

  19. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy: Well, isn\’t that what it is? Scientifically speaking…… I learned this in drivers ed: Intake, Compression, Ignitian, Exhaust. You need the exhaust, the more the better. Oh, man. I need a cup of coffee. Penny is asleep on my shoulder, and I don\’t want to wake up her cute little self.

  20. Tracey

    Screamingly funny! Now l\’m going to notice the Wilhelm scream! Thanks X!

  21. X-Evolutionist

    @Tracey: "Screamingly Funny". Very good description. It\’s just one more fun thing to make life a little more entertaining….

  22. Jen

    Hee, hee, X. Yours and Mand\’s comments are scream-worthy in themselves, I\’m laughing so much reading them I nearly broke in half!

  23. Cassie

    Oh god–everybody knows the Wilhelm Scream…it may be the single best known sound effect ever, From THEM (the movie about the giant ants) to the Star Wars movies and all over the place. Google or YouTube (same thing really) hosts several "collages" of it.

  24. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen. Does the "you break it, you buy it" adage apply here?

  25. X-Evolutionist

    @Cassie: When I was a kid, our local channel would show one movie every night, and twice and the weekends. I have seen "Them" so many times it\’s not funny. I do have one Youtube collection of Wilhelm Screams in this post. It\’s the only one I\’ve seen, myself. I\’d like to see more!

  26. Jen

    No, X. I\’m not a good bargain even as a giveaway;-)

  27. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, tee hee hee.

  28. X-Evolutionist

    @Cassie, thanks!

  29. X-Evolutionist

    @Cassie: Thanks bunches for that video!

  30. Cassie

    🙂 wait till I upload my next wmv effort—a double feature film with intro

  31. X-Evolutionist

    @Cassie! Did you make that? You\’re the Cassandra who made it? Cool.

  32. Cassie

    I am Cass of Shadows, yes

  33. Cassie

    As you know I spent the day seeing just how far I could go with Windows Movie Maker…and, baby, I taxed my system resources something fierce! But the result is live now—here\’s a link:http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=52707924(You may even hear a Wilhelm Scream or two) 🙂

  34. X-Evolutionist

    @Cassie! You\’ve done a really good job with Windows Movie Maker. Wow. I am very inspired to try it some more.

  35. Cassie

    TY—and glad to be on your network! Thanks for the invite!

  36. Cynical

    Scream must be very bad. Firefox wouldn\’t let me hear it.Peace, Doc

Leave a Reply

