Have you tried AutoCollage with Windows Live Photo Gallery?

First off, thank you to Kimmy for the inspiration! Kimmy did a collage of photos of wild birds, and it turned out beautiful! I’ve always wanted to do a collage of my pets, so when I saw Kimmy’s collage I got all excited and tried it right away!

So, I played around with AutoCollage and Windows Live Photo Gallery, and after a few tries I got this:

My Pet Family

It is so easy, you should give it a try! It will make collage after collage with the pictures you choose, and if you like it, you save it. I save all of mine just in case! Sometimes, a part you want gets covered over. It took me a few tries before I got everybody’s face showing pretty good.

Check out this space for more information about the program: AutoCollage Windows Live Space.  Windows Live Photo Gallery is part of the Windows Live Essentials that has several great free programs! If you don’t have them all yet, you should give them a try, too!

Here’s a quick rundown on how to use AutoCollage with Windows Live Photo Gallery:

  1. Download the AutoCollage program. This Space has more info: AutoCollage Windows Live Space (This is a 30 day free trial)
  2. Select your pictures in Windows Live Photo Gallery, putting a check mark in each photo chosen.
  3. Select “Extras/Add to AutoCollage”. (You have to have you Windows Live Photo Gallery fill the whole screen to see the “Extras” menu near the top middle of the program)
  4. After Auto Collage opens, select the button that says “Create”. Then, your pictures will start dancing around like they are in a parade! Eventually, they will settle into a lovely collage! If you like it, hit “Save” and name the image. If you don’t like it, hit “Create” again to start a new dance of your photos!

There is a lot more to it, there are more options, but this is enough to get you started. Now you know as much as I do!

I’ll try it again soon and learn more about AutoCollage, but I wanted to make sure that you knew about this so you can play with  it, too! As I said above, this Space has more info: AutoCollage Windows Live Space It is the space for the AutoCollage team, and will have the most up to date information about AutoCollage, plus some more instructions.

Have fun!

X

 

Share with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, StumbleUpon, etc

19 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

19 responses to “Have you tried AutoCollage with Windows Live Photo Gallery?

  1. Kimmy

    Awe… they\’re adorable X! Hudson bunny has the prettiest coloring. Everyone looks happy and content in your home. 🙂 I think the more photos you have the harder it is for the program to focus on the faces or something. It\’ll be interesting to see how it works with landscapes.

  2. Tracey

    Very cool! So it looks like it takes the center of the photo?

  3. Cynical

    I believe I\’ve downloaded this, but have not yet tried it. I think my first attempt will be with all the same picture of one cat. Somehow that seems safer but less creative.Peace, Doc

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @Tracey, I think it\’s pot luck what it chooses. Like I said at the top, most of my pets had no heads the first time. Kimmy said it can find faces, but these are pet faces.@Doc, I think a colage of one kitty picture would be interesting! Let me know when you do it.

  5. X-Evolutionist

    @Kimmy, like my post says, you are my inspiration. Your beautful wild bird collages look so great!

  6. Curtis

    My DW could of used this about 3 months ago when her and her Mother were making picture quilts for her Grandparents. She had to use a cruddy program that was free.

  7. X-Evolutionist

    I\’m sure your Dear Wife did a very nice job! That sounds great what she did.

  8. Jen

    Technogran posted about this feature recently, X. That does it. If it\’s that good, I\’m having it!

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Jen. I did not realize that TG posted about it, too. I just heard about it from Kimmy, yesterday! I need to pay more attention! Yeah, Jen, try it! You get to have it make collage after collage until it looks how you want. It is really neat. Sorry, I\’m old. I can\’t think of a better word than "neat" right now.X

Leave a Reply

