My first experience using Windows Live on a mobile phone.

I decided to take the new Clubhouse Challenge to write about using Windows Live with a cell phone. But, first off, I had to figure out how to GET Windows Live on my cell phone.

The first thing I had to do was figure out how to get on the internet on my phone. Then, I had to type:

http://mobile.live.com

in the web address box.

Man, oh, man, those cell phone buttons are tiny! I had to try about five different times before I finally got logged in. It was due to operator error because my phone is teeny and my hands are big. It’s hard to type using just the ten keys that I have on my phone.

I am an almost six foot tall woman, so I have big hands. It’s not easy to work with my itty bitty phone with my big hands. Besides, my hands are over 50 years old, and they get pooped out quickly doing some things. I just found out that typing on an itty bitty phone is one of things that poop them out. (I usually just use my phone to talk to my hubby, so I don’t ever need many keystrokes.)

So. anyway, I finally got logged in with my Windows Live ID and my password. Then, I surfed around Windows Live for a while. That was easy and fun because I had to just hit the enter to select to go different places. I read a friend’s blog and its comments, I read the comments on my own blog, looked at my profile, and I read What’s New in your Network page.

All in all, I had a really good time! But, since I was worried about air time, and the fact that my hands were cramping, I could not spend long surfing around.

But, I wanted to post a blog to my space from my phone while I was there. So, using an economy of text- as few words and character strokes as possible, I posted my first blog entry:

Blogged from my cell

This is my first blog from my cell. X

It wasn’t until my friends commented on the blog that I realized how silly it sounded. It sounded like I was sitting in prison and blogging!

So, if you are using an economy of characters, put a lot of thought into what you might be saying!

X

 

 

 Sign up for alerts
Stump the Creationist Group   All Things Live Group

55 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

55 responses to “My first experience using Windows Live on a mobile phone.

  1. Jen

    I know what you mean about those tiny buttons and air time. I haven\’t tried blogging on my phone or using the internet simply because of the cost!I had to send a message to one of my radio mates before broadcasting yesterday and, because I now have arthritis badly in my right thumb joint, it took ages to get what I wanted on the message page before I could send it. Maybe we should be able to plug a keyboard into the phone to help us out, eh, X! But then, it would have to be a big phone. What a caper;)Hope you\’re okay. Didja go and watch the clip? You should. It\’s soooo funny.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Jen said:Maybe we should be able to plug a keyboard into the phone to help us out, That\’s a good idea! I just googled "keyboard for cell phone" and I found these images:http://www.menstech.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/att-quickfire.jpghttp://www.crunchgear.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/iodata_keyboard2.jpgAll I have to do is get rich and I\’m all set. Hey, Jen, I\’m going to go watch that clip. My hubby is here now, too. So it\’s the perfect time I\’ve been waiting for.X

  3. Jen

    Oh no, X. What have I started? 😉

  4. X-Evolutionist

    Jen, That video gets the official "My hubby laughed out loud" award. My school bus drivers were never that fun!X

  5. Jen

    Heh, heh, heh. Glad ya liked it. Regards to your Hubby.

  6. X-Evolutionist

    Grumpy says Hi back!

  7. Jen

    You betcha. Thanks:-)

  8. Curtis

    I have tried to login to win live before by going to mhome.live.com. The page pops up but I can\’t login. Might try this site on my moto W385

  9. X-Evolutionist

    Thanks, Curtis, I learned something new today. I had to google: moto W385It\’s a cell phone! I know one more thing than I did a minute ago. Wahoo!Good luck! I hope you can get in.X

  10. Jasper

    I\’d be interested to see how the mobile versions of Live, display on different mobile devices. When I get back to my PC, will blog some screenshots of the Live sites. Displayed on Windows Mobile 6.1 device. For a comparison to your experience.

  11. X-Evolutionist

    @Jasper That will be great. I\’m looking forward to seeing them.

  12. Greg

    Make sure your mobile plan doesn\’t charge you by the amount of data you transfer using your mobile phone. Unlimited web/data usage is the way to go if you surf on your phone. Be warned.

  13. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg, actually, right now, I\’m using the Go Phone service. I mostly got it for emergencies. I don\’t use it too much right now. When I am rich, and I get a custom made Dick Tracy cell phone, then I will play online all I want. Thanks for the warning, though.X

Leave a Reply

