My hubby doesn’t think we are going to have baby birds.

Pipsqueak, Lovebird with Shelly, Parakeet My hubby has an interesting theory He thinks Pipsqueak and Shelly are both girls. His reason is that there are two consistent sizes of eggs, those in Shelly’s nest, and larger ones the floor of the cage. I thought that Shelly was just rejecting the bigger eggs as bad, which is common in nature. I have seen Pipsqueak and Shelly mating many times, so I thought for sure that Pipsqueak was a boy, but I have been wrong before:

When we got Cadbury Bunny a new bunny buddy after her mate died, the new bunny, Hudson, would chase her around the yard trying to mate with her. Cadbury did not know what was going on because she had been spayed when she was younger.

Anyway, so the day that Hudson was going to get neutered, the vet tech called and told us that they could not neuter Hudson, but would we like HER spayed. We found out later that bunnies use the mounting behavior as a form of dominance. Now both bunnies, both girls, mount each other.

So,  my hubby doesn’t think we are going to have baby birds. Something in their friendship prompted them to both lay eggs at the same  time, says my hubby. I guess we will see.

X

 Find out when I post a blogSign up for alerts
Stump the Creationist Group   All Things Live Group

25 Comments

Filed under Lovebirds, Parakeets, Pets

25 responses to “My hubby doesn’t think we are going to have baby birds.

  1. Mandy

    Often animals will come into season together (including humans) maybe this is what\’s happened here? It\’s still cute though!

  2. Greg

    Come one, come all to X\’s homosexual animal farm. Weirdness.

  3. X-Evolutionist

    Mandy, come to think of that, I have heard of that happening. Thanks!

  4. X-Evolutionist

    There are not many other animals from which to choose. You ever hear the song Love the one You\’re With? Pipsqueak and Gumby are all alone in their cage. Pipsqueak, the lovebird, picks on all the parakeets except Gumby, so they have to live alone together. Xhttp://X-Evolutionist.spaces.live.com/http://Stump-the-Creationist.groups.live.com/

  5. X-Evolutionist

    I have no idea where my brains are today. It is Pipsqueak and Shelly who live together. Gumby is in a different relationship. She’s the one who is trying to hatch jellybeans.

  6. Greg

    My sister-in-law has an African Grey parrot (very much like the one pictured in your user tile). It nearly took my finger off this weekend when I tried to change its food dish. Left\’ quite a deep cut and flap o\’ skin. Add parrots to the list of things that freak me out. No sir…I don\’t like it.

  7. X-Evolutionist

    Birds mate for life, and they don\’t want to have anything to do with anybody else, hence the bite. I get bit by Rufus, the handsome fellow in my picture. Rufus\’s mate for life is my hubby. Our parrot, Peanut Boy, was mated with my hubby, but when he died, Rufus moved right in. Of all my birds, I have one who loves me, my sweet cockatiel, Penny. I am her mate.X

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Clarification: Not all birds mate for life. Parrots mate for life. I misspoke.

  9. X-Evolutionist

    By parrots, I mean all variations of parrots, including parakeet, lovebird, cockatiel and African Grey, each of which are in my living room right now….

  10. Greg

    I don\’t know about mating, but he sure was tasty.

  11. X-Evolutionist

    Taste like chicken?

  12. Greg

    Ever wonder if everything tastes like chicken because of a common evolutionary anscestor?

  13. X-Evolutionist

    God ran out flavors. He had to use some more than once.

  14. X-Evolutionist

    Can God microwave a burrito so hot he can\’t eat it?

  15. Greg

    LOL. If you\’ve ever seen the Matrix, then you know why everything tastes like chicken.

  16. X-Evolutionist

    Mmmm. Tasty Wheat.

  17. Les

    They are just trying to scratch that itch on each other, cause they cannot reach it themselves, unlike humans, haha… 😉

  18. X-Evolutionist

    Hmm. Interesting theory, Les.

Leave a Reply

