Living with a snoring rhinoceros…

I’m not exactly sure what a snoring rhinoceros sounds like, but I think I have a pretty good idea.

If I really did live with a rhinoceros, at least I could solve it by sewing a pocket on the back of his pajama top and putting a tennis ball into it . Then, the rhinoceros  would not sleep on his back, and the snoring wouldn’t’ be so bad.

But, the sound of the snoring rhinoceros comes from a contraption in my house called an “oxygen concentrator”.

My silly lungs can’t process oxygen out of the air any more. They stopped last year. So I need to be attached to this snoring rhinoceros that keeps me alive. Day in, day out, snore snore snore.

I can’t get more than 50 feet away from it, even if I had the energy, because we are attached by a hose. I have a “portable” (the size of an upright vacuum cleaner) oxygen tank for when I feel well enough to leave the house, but that isn’t very often.

Anyway, maneuvering that fifty foot hose with me everywhere I go through the house is not fun, especially when living with a little doggie that has to be the center of every activity.

Princess Cujo also apparently wants to kill me and marry my husband. She always gets tangled up in my cord and tries to trip me. I love Lily, her real name, but she is a problem child.

God gave her to us to take care of her in her geriatric years two years ago. Poor little thing is deaf and mostly blind, and very old, very nosy, and has to me in the middle of anything “interesting” that happens … even walking to the bathroom. She gets away with everything because we feel sorry for her because she is so pitiful. When she dies, I will have plenty of time to walk through the house without tripping.

Back to the oxygen hose. Anyway, it goes from the contraption, through the house, and up both my nostrils. I have to wear it 24 hours a day, and it’s even more uncomfortable than the headgear I used to have with my braces.

Just as a comparison, get two pencils and ram them up your nose. Now, put your head on a pillow and pretend to sleep. Comfy? Not on your life.

Sometimes I just need to gripe a little bit in order to feel better. Thanks for being there. I feel fine now…

X

   Sign up for alerts

Join the Hack All Things Live Group    Home    Reasons Why I Believe in God

21 Comments

Filed under Health and wellness

21 responses to “Living with a snoring rhinoceros…

  1. Horst

    Your welcome love gripe anytime you want.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Thank you, Horst!X

  3. Tracey

    Uh, how did you manage to make me laugh with that? l think it was the nasty little dog getting tangled on the way to the bathroom!Peace X, Love ya

  4. Tracey

    BTW, l think ranting is essential. . .

  5. X-Evolutionist

    Thanks, Tracy! I am very happy that it made you laugh! Nasty little dog, indeed. Your post made ME laugh. That is very theraputic for this cranky and sick middle aged lady.X

  6. Sherri

    I am a ranter and have my own soapbox! Rant on X, rant on….

  7. X-Evolutionist

    Thank you, Sherri.!X

  8. Gerry

    Hi X,Here\’s an animal joke to help cheer you up.Why did the chicken cross the road? To show the possum that it could be done!OK, maybe not great but it\’s the only joke I know. :-)Have a nice night.Gerryhttp://www.gerrya2u.spaces.live.com (old site) http://www.gerrya2u.blogspot.com (new site)

Leave a Reply

