“Nicki, find the babies….”

As you might already know, I have a lot of pets, including a cage-full of parakeets here in my office. The other day, I accidentally left the door of my parakeet cage open after feeding them, then went outside. While I was out in my backyard, five of my eleven parakeets got out of the cage. When I came in the back door, they were all flying around the kitchen, but they flew away in various directions. I looked everywhere for them, but I couldn’t find them!

Luckily, Nicki lives in my house…

All right, Mr. DeMille, I'm ready for my close-up.

Nicki, my girl-dog mutt, got spayed when she was young. So, she’s never had puppies. BUT, God wired her with a maternal instinct to the max. She thinks all my other pets are her babies.

So, when I couldn’t find the parakeets, I said: "Nicki, find the babies". She immediately went searching for her "babies". One by one, she led me to them. One was found in a closet, one was up on a shelf, etc. One by one, they were put back in their house with the other parakeets.

Once four were back in their house, I took "inventory" and found that Monty was still missing. I asked Nicki once more "Nicki, find the baby…". She went looking again. Finally, she led me to the back room where we found Monty behind a chest of drawers. Monty had gotten stuck between the wall and the back of the chest of drawers, and couldn’t  get back out again.

When I put Monty back in the house, Monty and his girlfriend Gumby were very happy to see each other! (parrot-type birds mate for life) They immediately started doing the parakeet equivalent of hugging and kissing. Here’s a picture of them taken some time back:

Reunited and it feels so good.....

Gumby and Monty

Thank you, Nicki! I would have never found all the "babies" without your help. Good girl!

X

To first page

27 Comments

Filed under Dogs, Parakeets, Pets

27 responses to ““Nicki, find the babies….”

  1. Jen

    What a heart-warming story. Glad you (or Nicki!) found \’em all.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Thanks, Jen. Nicki has helped me lots of times. Rufus, my parrot, likes to be sneaky sometimes and jumps off his perch and wanders through the house. I have to send Nicki to go find him before he eats the woodwork or the computer cords. She is very handy to have around! When I tell her she\’s a good girl afterwards, she gets a big smile and just beams with pride. It\’s so cute. X

  3. Tracey

    They look like budgies to me. Are budgies in the parrot family?Nicki IS a good girl!! You can tell her l said so 😉

  4. Tracey

    l forgot to say: Lennon also likes to be called a good boy! He is a lot like a dog, he likes approval and he doesn\’t like if l notice he has done something wrong–he hardly ever does!!

  5. X-Evolutionist

    Tracey, Yes, parakeets, what we call them in the USA, are a variety of parrot. African Grey parrots, cockatiels, parakeets and lovebirds, what I have had, are all in the Family Psittacidae. (in my humble opinion, God created the generic, basic parrot, and the other varieties developed over time as different groups of genes got isolated in populations – sorry. You know me, I had to stick that in!That\’s neat how pets thrive on positive reinforcement. I have to put eye drops in Nicki\’s eyes regularly. She does not like it, but when she sees the bottle, she lays down with her face up, ready for the drops. She winces and cries, but once they are in, she gets called a "Good Girl" and the agony of getting the eyedrops is forgotten. X

  6. Cassie

    I live in the USA and I always called them budgies (budgerigars) http://www.budgerigarsociety.com/

  7. Cassie

    Now the reason you can\’t call them "parakeets" is because "para" is a Greek prefix meaning "beside" or "near" and these creatures are not near keets. This is a KEET: http://patefarms.com/birds/youngginnys.jpg (or young guinea fowl). You see?

  8. X-Evolutionist

    Cassie, the birds on that page look like "English Budgies". They are bigger and have a bigger forehead and a stance that makes them look regal. The USA parakeets are the generic form of that. The English Budgies are show birds. The parakeets are pet birds. That is my understanding. It might be a regional thing.X

  9. X-Evolutionist

    I wrote that last comment before you wrote your last. Actually, there are a lot of birds called parakeets, ringnecked, rosellas, plumheaded, etc, to name a few. I think "parakeets" is the nickname for budgies in the US maybe. X

  10. X-Evolutionist

    I\’m turning the computer off. My hubby is home, and he brought Chinese food. Everybody have a nice weekend. X

  11. Cassie

    open a fortune cookie for me :)This has been fun but budgie is actually a corruption of the Australian Aboriginal word for the shell parakeet common to that continent (pronounced gijirrigaa) which is usually light green with black and yellow markings in the wild but bred in many colors but the word gravitated to the UK and is applied commonly to all parakeets.

  12. Cassie

    ps: the English…er…EX-patriots….who settled in Australia thought the word gijirrigaa meant "good to eat" it actually means "Hope the British settle here soon we need newspapers to line these damn cages!"

  13. Kimmy

    That is the sweetest thing! WTG Nicki!

  14. yuli yulieth

    HOLA

  15. yuli yulieth

    HOLA SOY

Leave a Reply

