“It’s a Wonderful Life” named top inspirational film!

We watched the American Film Institute’s special "AFI’s 100 Years – 100 Cheers" last night. It was the count down of the top 100 inspirational American films. One of my favorite movies of all time is "It’s a Wonderful Life". As the countdown from 100 got closer and closer to the end, I was worried that this movie was not going to make the list. It turned out to be Number One! Another favorite of mine, also starring Jimmy Stewart, is Mr. Smith Goes to Washington. It was high on the list, too: Number Five. Here are some of my very favorite movies of all time that made it on the list:

1. It’s a Wonderful Life
2.  To Kill a Mockingbird
5.  Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
7.  The Grapes of Wrath
9.   Miracle on 34th Street
15. The Miracle Worker
26. The Wizard of Oz
32. Casablanca (the best movie ever made in my opinion)
48. The African Queen
89. Harold and Maude
etc etc etc.

Actually, I need to update my list of favorite movies (left side of my space). I had only recently started compiling my list of favorites, and I add to it as I think of more movies. I have to add several of the ones on the AFI list to my list.

The whole AFI list can be found here:

http://www.afi.com/docs/tvevents/pdf/cheers100.pdf 

X

(Please leave comments to me in my Guestbook. Thank you!)

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

