I’m playing with animated gifs again.

Hi Everybody!

Last month or so we (finally) bought a digital camera. We found out after we bought it that it can take short movies. I was just trying an experiment. I wanted to try to make a movie of my waterfall into an animated gif. It worked, sorta. (If anybody knows a better way, I’d love to hear it. 

Here’s what I did:  

I paused a few separate frames of the movie.

I captured each frame with shift/print screen.

I pasted each frame into paint, cropped it, and saved as a gif.

I then made the frames into an animated gif using Unfreez.

The Unfreez gif animator is a free software. You can download it from Mark Slack’s (Little Fish) space here: http://spaces.msn.com/markslack/. It is on a list called Space Tools.  Here’s his tutorial for how to use this software:

http://spaces.msn.com/markslack/blog/cns!27F804AF658456B6!1421.entry

I’ve made a few other animated gifs. I’ve posted about them in this blog in the category "Hobbies" if you’d like to see what a rank amateur can do with this great software.

 

Our waterfall
An animated gif of our waterfall

Here’s a better picture of the waterfall gif. It lost some resolution being pasted in the blog and resized.

X

 

(Please leave comments to me in my Guestbook. Thank you!)

31 Comments

Filed under Hobbies

Leave a Reply

