Windows Live Movie Maker is not available on XP

image

Edited to add: The confusion is that there are two different things called Movie Maker:

Windows Movie Maker comes with the XP Media Center while Windows LIVE Movie Maker comes with Windows Live Essentials. I have been told that except in some cases, that Windows Live Movie Maker is not available in Windows XP.


This is my previous post before I found out what the difference was:

I have a movie maker on my computer, and I thought it came from Live. But, I’ve been told that it is a separate program. When I open it, and go to: Help/Windows Movie Maker on the web, it takes me here: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/moviemaker/ The program I have on my computer is:

Windows Movie Maker

“C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\moviemk.exe”

If it didn’t get downloaded with the Windows Live Essentials download, then I don’t know where it came from. Nobody else uses this computer but me.

I can’t find another movie program anywhere else on my computer.

But, apparently that is NOT the Windows Live Movie Maker that is supposed to come with Windows Live Essentials. I even went to that product’s individual download page to download it individually:

http://download.live.com/moviemaker

And I still don’t get it. It is not even listed on the programs list shown to the left.

Friends, please check and see if you have Windows Live Movie Maker installed. This is baffling me.

Thanks!

X

 

Bookmark and Share

36 Comments

Filed under Windows Live

36 responses to “Windows Live Movie Maker is not available on XP

  1. Tim

    Are you running XP or ealier. If so than the movie maker that you have is Windows Movie Maker. Windows Live Movie Maker can only be installed if you are running Windows Vista, Windows Vista SP1, Windows 7 pre-Beta or Windows 7 Beta.

  2. X-Evolutionist

    Thank you, Timothy

  3. Duc

    Windows Movie Maker is included when you download/auto update SP2 for XP

  4. X-Evolutionist

    @No Name, Thank for for the info about SP2 for XP! I\’m downloading it now! (Service Pack 2)

  5. X-Evolutionist

    Hmm. When I tried to download service pack 2, it said that my version was newer, and I don\’t need to update to it. Hmm.

  6. X-Evolutionist

    I checked out the Essentials download page: http://download.live.com/SystemRequirements.aspxWindows Live products require the following:Operating system: Windows XP with Service Pack 2 (32-bit edition only), Windows Vista (32-bit or 64-bit editions), Windows 7 Beta (32-bit or 64-bit editions), or Windows Server 2008. Note: Windows Live Movie Maker is not supported on Windows XPIf somebody knows otherwise, please give me a link to a Microsoft url with a quote. Thanks!

  7. Mandy

    I\’ve got SP3, X

  8. Mandy

    no name must be talking about WMM not WLMM

  9. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy, yeah, maybe that\’s it. I was confused about that, myself. I just posted a note on All Things Live that I want to make sure once and for all that my computer is up to date, not that I\’m thinking of it.

  10. Greg

    WMM is included with Windows XP. Vista did not typically include WMM, but a Vista-compatible version is available for download. WLMM Beta is a separate download, part of the WL Essentials pack, and only available for Windows Vista and later. Feature-wise, you\’re better off with WMM for the time being, X. WLMM just isn\’t up to snuff yet.

  11. Mandy

    Did you check your Graphics card X ? ……………Graphics or video card: Windows Live Movie Maker requires ATI Radeon 9500 (or higher) or nVidia GeForce FX 5900 (or higher).

  12. X-Evolutionist

    @Greg, Thanks. What was messing up my brain was that all of the Essentials could not download for me. It was just the principle of the thing. I realize now that Windows Movie Maker, which I have, is better. But, I was investigating the great unknown at the limits of my knowledge…… I must know everything. It\’s a sickness….

    • Glen

      But how do you merge the sound with the slide show? It does it in the working window, but when I check the saved file in Windows Explorer it’s way too small to have the audio in it. ??

  13. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy, Thanks, but we got a new graphics card just months ago so we could show the computer screen on our HDTV. I would imagine it\’s got the latest, but I don\’t know much about hardware.

  14. X-Evolutionist

    @Mandy and Greg. I\’m updating my computer as we speak. Thanks for the info All Things Live.

  15. Mandy

    Yeah you\’re probably right, X

  16. Cassie

    Well iF you have the Windows XP Media Center Edition you have Windows Live Movie Maker.

  17. Cassie

    @ X—if you have Service Pack 3 anything that required Service Pack 2 (or higher) will work with it.People with SP1 will have a problem.

  18. Curtis

    I thought that the Live version of movie maker was also for win xp users as well. I know xp has a movie maker of it own though. You must have service pack 3 then.

  19. X-Evolutionist

    The confusion is that there are two different things called Movie MakerWindows Movie Maker comes with the XP Media Center Windows LIVE Movie Maker comes with Windows Live Essentials. Very confusing!

  20. Curtis

    Yes it is. Windows mail and WL mail is confusing as well. They used to look very simular so I had to remove windows mail from my start menu all together. I use wl mail for all my email accounts.

  21. X-Evolutionist

    @Curtis, oh, no! Don\’t start another confusing topic. I can\’t take it. Tee hee. I use Outlook Connector to read the Hotmail Inbox in my Outlook. It\’s handy.

  22. Martín

    Well, this is the weird stuff: W Live Movie Maker seems to be available only for those running Windows Vista and later, v.g.: Windows 7. So the main page of Live Essentials says that if you have Windows XP SP 2 is ok, but, in fact, that\’s not the case. Shouldn\’t Microsoft tells us that\’s so, or at least specify the OS requirements better?

  23. mariam

    Windows live movie maker isn\’t avalible on windows xp. But, you can get it if you upgrade to windows 7 beta (but it\’s too late now, because it\’s unavalible so you\’ll have to wait until the fianal realese of windows 7 is launched wich will probaly be somewhere in August or later).

  24. mariam

    Read the licence and agreements. if you read the top paragraph, you\’ll find it says WLMM is NOT avalible for windows xp.

  25. David

    I know this is an old post, but I didn\’t find a correct answer to your question how Windows Movie Maker was installed. Different version of Windows Movie Maker is included in each service pack for Windows XP. Version 1 is in service pack 1, version 2 is in service pack 2, and version 2.1 is in service pack 3. Interestingly, the shortcut for Movie Maker is not added during some installs of the service pack – could just be my system tweaks though.

  26. Joe

    mariam:I checked the agreement "Microsoft Service Agreement Last Updated: April 2009" http://help.live.com/Help.aspx?market=en-US&project=TOU&querytype=topic&query=welcome.htmbut couldn\’t find any reference to WLMM. Can you please provide a link?Thanks.

  27. TEUKU

    Too bad it\’s not working on Xp, still the most dominant OS in the world. However Xp users can get Windows Vista Movie Maker on Xp (V 2.6, completely with Vista skin style),also the same Vista skin for original Xp Movie Maker (2.1 and 2.5). The best replacement for Live Movie Maker on Xp, at least for now: http://www.4shared.com/file/64569368/9b981595/Vista_Movie_Maker_26_for_Xp.html

  28. X-Evolutionist

    Hi TEUKU, Thank you for the information! X

  29. potet

    Windows movie maker is coming with xp, and xp does NOT support Windows LIVE movie maker.

  30. Alex

    Windows Live Movie Maker only works on Windows Vista and Windows 7

  31. Patrick

    i love windows live and the love is goin down because i have windows xp and i am dying for windows live movie maker

Leave a Reply

